Reflection on Gospel for September 20, 2012

 

Gospel Luke 7:36-50

A certain Pharisee invited Jesus to dine with him,
and he entered the Pharisee’s house and reclined at table.
Now there was a sinful woman in the city
who learned that he was at table in the house of the Pharisee.
Bringing an alabaster flask of ointment,
she stood behind him at his feet weeping
and began to bathe his feet with her tears.
Then she wiped them with her hair,
kissed them, and anointed them with the ointment.
When the Pharisee who had invited him saw this he said to himself,
“If this man were a prophet,
he would know who and what sort of woman this is who is touching him,
that she is a sinner.”
Jesus said to him in reply,
“Simon, I have something to say to you.”
“Tell me, teacher,” he said.
“Two people were in debt to a certain creditor;
one owed five hundred days’ wages and the other owed fifty.
Since they were unable to repay the debt, he forgave it for both.
Which of them will love him more?”
Simon said in reply,
“The one, I suppose, whose larger debt was forgiven.”
He said to him, “You have judged rightly.”
Then he turned to the woman and said to Simon,
“Do you see this woman?
When I entered your house, you did not give me water for my feet,
but she has bathed them with her tears
and wiped them with her hair.
You did not give me a kiss,
but she has not ceased kissing my feet since the time I entered.
You did not anoint my head with oil,
but she anointed my feet with ointment.
So I tell you, her many sins have been forgiven;
hence, she has shown great love.
But the one to whom little is forgiven, loves little.”
He said to her, “Your sins are forgiven.”
The others at table said to themselves,
“Who is this who even forgives sins?”
But he said to the woman,
“Your faith has saved you; go in peace.”

Yesterday, we had the beautiful, traditional “wedding reading” on love as Paul wrote to the Corinthians.  Today, Jesus tells us (basically) that “love covers a multitude of sins.”  Mother Theresa preached this as well through her words, and most especially through her actions.

Do you ever meditate upon scripture by reading it, then closing your eyes and putting yourself in the story?  I can easily picture myself as this woman, feeling so unworthy to be in Jesus’ presence, yet longing for Him – knowing that He is the only One with the power to heal me – of my hurts – of my sins.  Out of desperation and love for this merciful Jesus, I would dare to approach Him and throw myself at His precious feet.

I have experienced my own deep wounds in this life – wounds that have left me feeling vulnerable and even ashamed.  Jesus has helped me to forgive.  He has been my comfort and my strength.  I cannot wait to be able to see Him face to face – to be able to reach out and touch the Almighty Healer.

Close your eyes and try putting yourself into the story today.  Allow Jesus to minister to whatever hurts you’re holding on to – any sins perhaps you have asked forgiveness for but for which you have not forgiven yourself.  Feel His warmth, His touch, His love.

How beautiful – How great is our God!

About danardoyle

I am a Catholic, working wife and mother. I have three children ages 17, 23 and 30. I am extremely busy, as you can imagine. I aim each and every day to put God first in my life, to teach my children the Faith, to be a supportive spouse, keep the house in order, and do my job outside of the home well, too. That's an impossible task - without Divine intervention! Here, I hope to share my triumphs and struggles with other working moms in the same boat. I will share the tools I have discovered to making it all work - most days!
This entry was posted in scripture, Scripture Reflections and tagged , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

2 Responses to Reflection on Gospel for September 20, 2012

  1. Annamae says:

    Hi there, just was alert to your blog via Google, and found that it’s truly informative. I am gonna be careful for that. I’ll be grateful in the event you proceed this in future. Numerous folks will likely be benefited out of your writing. Cheers!

Leave a comment