Oh That I Had Wings Like a Dove!

The Spider as an Artist
Has never been employed —
Though his surpassing Merit
Is freely certified

By every Broom and Bridget
Throughout a Christian Land —
Neglected Son of Genius
I take thee by the Hand —

Emily Dickinson

 

TWO butterflies went out at noon
And waltzed above a stream,
Then stepped straight through the firmament
And rested on a beam…

Emily Dickinson

I saw some really beautiful things at work these past two days.  What a blessing to have these incredible reminders of God the Creator put in my path.

Despite these reminders of God’s Presence, shamefully, I’m experiencing a  general feeling of malaise/despondency this evening.   Tomorrow is a new day, however, and everything is better after a good night’s sleep!

“And I said, Oh that I had wings like a dove! Then would I fly away, and be at rest.”  Psalm 55: 6

About danardoyle

I am a Catholic, working wife and mother. I have three children ages 10, 16 and 23. I am extremely busy, as you can imagine. I aim each and every day to put God first in my life, to teach my children the Faith, to be a supportive spouse, keep the house in order, and do my job outside of the home well, too. That's an impossible task - without Divine intervention! Here, I hope to share my triumphs and struggles with other working moms in the same boat. I will share the tools I have discovered to making it all work - most days!
This entry was posted in gardening/nature, I Saw God Today, Inspirational, Prayer and tagged , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

3 Responses to Oh That I Had Wings Like a Dove!

  1. kvennarad says:

    Forgive me, I’m about to ramble. It’s your fault – you posted two Emily Dickinson poems. 🙂

    I love poetry, the heady romanticism of Shelley, the laconic laundry-lists of Charles Bukowski, the wonderful words of Anne Sexton and Adrienne Rich, the list goes on. I don’t make any distinction between eras, styles, modes – to me there is no ‘formal verse’ no ‘free verse’, just poetry. Right in there is Emily Dickinson, with whom I am hopelessly in love. I’ve never bought a book of her works and I doubt I ever will, for the simple reason that I like to come across her poems by serendipity. The trouble is I find it so difficult not to subject them to close analysis, because their structure, their words, their imagery all convey the poem’s argument so well. Look at the quatrain about the butterflies, for example – a single verse of English Hymn Metre; the butterflies almost anthropomorphised as though they had noted the time and deliberately set out and been aware of their waltzing; the simplicity of a natural phenomenon set against that big word ‘firmament’ meaning the vault of the sky…

    In the first poem she expresses elusiveness by the use of half-rhyme (employed – certified, Artist – merit). If you extend the half rhyme ‘Artist – merit’ to ‘Artist – merit – Bridget’ you see a sub-structure to the poem revealed. The double-quatrain becomes more like a six line / two line structure (or even two-four-two grammatically) emphasising the point she makes strongly in the last two lines – her admiration for the skill of the spider. The fact-of-nature that webs are spun by females does not deter her from making the spider a male artisan, a ‘Son of Genius’. The back spin: in every Christian land the works of the spider are broomed into nothingness by the ignorant housemaid; but could the neglected ‘Son of Genius’ be, rather than the spider, the ‘Son’, the ‘Word’ of John’s Gospel, without whom was nothing made that was made? In a Christian land, the Son, theWord, neglected in the ignorance of the daily round? Laborare est dediscere? It’s a thought.

    Thank you for my breakfast-time reading today.

    M
    __________
    Marie Marshall
    author/poet/editor
    Scotland
    http://mairibheag.com
    http://kvennarad.wordpress.com

    • danardoyle says:

      Wow! I don’t know what to say. It’s very cool to meet a real poet – from Scotland, too! I have ancestors from there – Cochrans. I love to write poetry myself – mostly when I’m in pain or in awe! I haven’t written any in awhile, however. On what topics do you like to write? I own the a large book containing the poems of Emily Dickinson. I think I love her observations on life and nature – her “deep simplicity” – if that makes sense.

Leave a Reply

