Communion in the Hand

Recently, our local Catholic newspaper, “The Clarion Herald”, celebrated 50 years.  In this beautifully done issue, there was a timeline of significant things that happened in the Church and in the world during that period of time.  I enjoyed the walk down memory lane with the Archdiocese of New Orleans…Anyway, when I got to one page, the caption read “Communion in the Hand.”  It explained that in 1977, The United Stated Bishops were granted permission from Rome to administer Holy Communion in the Hand with certain specifications – and with much care to be taken.  I remember being a child in the elementary grades when this transition took place.

I was curious to learn more so I went to the “handy dandy” internet and Googled “Communion in the Hand, 1977.”  Unbelievably, I found a whole website dedicated to the topic.

Let me share one of the quotes that I found to be very interesting.  This one meant a lot to me, because I have the utmost respect for JPII –  His life was inspiring – a powerful witness!

Pope John Paul II, Interview, 1980

“There is an apostolic letter on the existence of a special valid permission for this [Communion in the hand]. But I tell you that I am not in favor of this practice, nor do I recommend it.” (responding to a reporter from Stimme des Glaubens magazine, during his visit to Fulda, Germany in November 1980.)”

I found the WHOLE website to be interesting and eye opening.  If you are interested in the topic, here’s the link.

images

About danardoyle

I am a Catholic, working wife and mother. I have three children ages 10, 16 and 23. I am extremely busy, as you can imagine. I aim each and every day to put God first in my life, to teach my children the Faith, to be a supportive spouse, keep the house in order, and do my job outside of the home well, too. That's an impossible task - without Divine intervention! Here, I hope to share my triumphs and struggles with other working moms in the same boat. I will share the tools I have discovered to making it all work - most days!
This entry was posted in eucharist, Prayer and tagged , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

4 Responses to Communion in the Hand

  1. Sue Elvis says:

    Dana,

    Thank you or the link! We receive Communion on the tongue even though we are definitely in the minority in our parish. I have known priests who don’t like to give Communion this way but we don’t have that problem in our current parish. To us, it just doesn’t feel right receiving Our Lord in our hands. I sometimes wish the altar severs used the plate (I’ve forgotten its name!) that is placed under the chin just to ensure the Host doesn’t drop to the floor. Even thought the priest has no trouble placing the Hosts on the tongue, some of the extraordinary ministers are not very proficient at doing this.

    I agree with the website that reverence for Our Lord has decreased since Communion was allowed in the hand. Maybe we think too much about what is comfortable and convenient for us, and not enough about the respect we should show towards God.

    God bless!

  2. Felix says:

    The Holy Communion should not be given in the hand. I pray that the next Pope puts an end to it.

  3. Pingback: 7 Quick Takes Friday – Volume 61 | Plot Line and Sinker

Leave a Reply

