Latin Mass on the Northshore

101_2335 101_2339 101_2340Last Sunday, we visited a church in the nearby community of Lacombe, Louisiana.  My family has always enjoyed attending the Latin mass at St. Patrick’s on Camp Street in New Orleans.  Unfortunately it is an hour and fifteen minute drive each way, and uses a good amount of gasoline. After doing a little bit of research, I learned that the Latin mass is being offered at a small country church only 30 minutes from our home.  Of course this church is more modern and simple – not the grand beauty of the historic church in the city, however, it is beautiful in its own way.  The altar has large-paned windows behind it that allows parishioners to see the wonderful, mature pine and oak trees behind the church.  The priest arranged the altar with the traditional six candles and the tabernacle “front and center” just behind the altar.   90% of the women wore chapel veils.  I wore one for the first time since I was a small child in the early 1970’s!  We were able to receive Holy Communion from the priest while kneeling – the position that feels most natural when receiving our Lord and King.  After communion, the choir led us in singing Salve Regina.  My eight year old turned to me with a big smile on his face.  These Latin words he knew well!  He sang proudly along.   The young priest that offered the mass was Fr. Daniel Brouillete, one of the Archdiocese of New Orleans’ new priests and parochial vicar at St. Peter in Covington.  It is so wonderful to see new priests coming out of the seminary with such reverence for the Blessed Sacrament and love for our Catholic Tradition.  It was a great experience.  We plan to visit Sacred Heart Church in Lacombe for the noon Latin mass again!

About danardoyle

I am a Catholic, working wife and mother. I have three children ages 17, 23 and 30. I am extremely busy, as you can imagine. I aim each and every day to put God first in my life, to teach my children the Faith, to be a supportive spouse, keep the house in order, and do my job outside of the home well, too. That's an impossible task - without Divine intervention! Here, I hope to share my triumphs and struggles with other working moms in the same boat. I will share the tools I have discovered to making it all work - most days!
This entry was posted in Blessed Sacrament, Catholic, Catholicism, eucharist, Informational, Prayer, Uniquely Catholic and tagged , , , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a comment