A Beautiful Blessing

Yesterday, I read a post from Courageous Priest.  He spoke about a beautiful blessing that a priest can give to a mother and father who have experienced a miscarriage or stillbirth.  I did not know this existed!

Most women of childbearing age have experienced miscarriage.  Some, sadly, have experienced several.  I remember mine vividly.  It happened in November of 1995.  I still have a rose that my husband brought me that I placed in a little glass heart shaped box (when it dried out) to commemorate that child.  It was tough.  I remember the incredible sadness I felt that no one could soothe.  Even though my baby was peanut sized, he/she was already a part of our family.

grieving-mother

I think it is because we are all more than just a body – we are body/soul composites.  My baby was more than a tiny body that failed to thrive, but he/she was a BIG soul who now resides in heaven.   I can’t wait for us to meet one day!

Anyway, if you know of anyone who has recently suffered a miscarriage or stillborn child, you may want to share this beautiful prayer service and blessing.

 

About danardoyle

I am a Catholic, working wife and mother. I have three children ages 10, 16 and 23. I am extremely busy, as you can imagine. I aim each and every day to put God first in my life, to teach my children the Faith, to be a supportive spouse, keep the house in order, and do my job outside of the home well, too. That's an impossible task - without Divine intervention! Here, I hope to share my triumphs and struggles with other working moms in the same boat. I will share the tools I have discovered to making it all work - most days!
This entry was posted in Faith & Children, Prayer and tagged , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.