Don’t Let it Go!

OLYMPUS DIGITAL CAMERAOLYMPUS DIGITAL CAMERA

For the past two weeks, this one rose has been blooming and hanging on to the bush.  Looking out the window toward Momma Mary, it caught my eye – as it was the lonely splash of color.  I thought it unusual how long it was there, as the individual blossoms usually last a few days, then fall to carpet the ground below.

Finally, this morning, a cool front is pushing through, and with it came the wind.  (It has been unseasonably warm and gloomy here in the Deep South.)  Right after I took the picture of the rose to show you, the wind came and swept it away.

The single rose reminded me of a favorite Traditional Christmas Hymn,  Lo How a Rose E’er Blooming.

Riding around my neighborhood, it is so sad to see how many neighbors have taken lights down and put the tree out on the curb- some the very day after Christmas!  I’m not condemning.  I’ll admit that I am trying to resist the urge myself.  Things get so cluttered during the weeks leading up to Christmas with the decorations and packages that it seems natural to want to get things “back into order” – to simplify again.

Let us hold onto the joy of Christmas ! Let us remain in awe of that baby – our King in the manger.  Let’s not put away the crib too quickly.

When someone in our own families gives birth, we celebrate!  New life brings joy and hope to all.  We don’t simply leave the baby and parents at the hospital and move on – back to life as usual.  No!  We count the moments until we can behold that precious baby again and hold him/her in our arms.  We take delight in watching the child grow and celebrating all of the milestones!

Jesus was no ordinary baby though – God took on human flesh to save you and me!    That precious infant that lay in a most humble animal trough wants to draw us close.  He wants our love for Him (and in turn our love for others) to grow exponentially – not just in this Christmas season – but in everyday of 2017 – and forward.   Let us bask in His presence awhile longer and cherish the true gift of Christmas!

 

About danardoyle

I am a Catholic, working wife and mother. I have three children ages 10, 16 and 23. I am extremely busy, as you can imagine. I aim each and every day to put God first in my life, to teach my children the Faith, to be a supportive spouse, keep the house in order, and do my job outside of the home well, too. That's an impossible task - without Divine intervention! Here, I hope to share my triumphs and struggles with other working moms in the same boat. I will share the tools I have discovered to making it all work - most days!
This entry was posted in Christian Music, Christmas, gardening/nature and tagged , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.