Splitting

wood-splittingSplitting. Compartmentalizing. There is a real struggle in our world today among Christians trying to live in the world that has descended into chaos and a great moral abyss.  I see many “splitting.” It has gotten so uncomfortable to stand out, that sometimes even good people compartmentalize different aspects of their lives to make life more bearable. I get it.

 

We, as humans, tend toward choosing the paths of least resistance. There’s the “holy”, faithful part of us that goes to church on Sunday and says grace before meals – when we are surrounded by like-minded people. It’s easy. Then there’s the part that cringes but doesn’t say anything when God’s name is used disrespectfully – the part that listens to the smutty song on the radio because the beat or the music makes us want to move – the part that is afraid to speak out for fear of retribution. From time to time, I struggle with this too, and I hate it!

 

We cannot have it both ways. We cannot live double lives as followers of Christ. In these times in which we live, we are being called to choose sides – to allow our faith to saturate every cell of our beings – to give ourselves over completely, unabashedly to God – to do with what He Wills – to be used as instruments – to bring others to Him – to bring light to the darkness.

 

We were chosen to live during these times!  (Wrap your brain around that!) If we are not standing out – if it is not uncomfortable – then we are not doing it right! Thankfully, God never leaves us alone to fend for ourselves. He promises grace sufficient for anything that may come our way. We simply need to ask for this grace through prayer and the sacraments. We must take time to empty ourselves before the Lord so that He may fill us. We’re not going to make it through the storms of this world running around on empty!

 

Prepare! Prepare the Way of the Lord! Come, let us adore Him!

About danardoyle

I am a Catholic, working wife and mother. I have three children ages 10, 16 and 23. I am extremely busy, as you can imagine. I aim each and every day to put God first in my life, to teach my children the Faith, to be a supportive spouse, keep the house in order, and do my job outside of the home well, too. That's an impossible task - without Divine intervention! Here, I hope to share my triumphs and struggles with other working moms in the same boat. I will share the tools I have discovered to making it all work - most days!
This entry was posted in faith, Prayer and tagged , , , . Bookmark the permalink.