My Favorite Things about Summer

…having the time to sit and watch the birds on the bird feeder; barefooting in the grass, playing and going on adventures with the kids; 9 a.m. bubble baths; gardening in the early a.m. and at dusk; the sounds of crickets, locusts and frogs at night; wonderful greens and blues (my favorite colors); passion flowers & black-eyed susans; swallowtails; reading a book in my sunroom; athletic shorts nearly all day – everyday; the smell of sunscreen; no homework and no scheduled bedtime; lunch dates with friends; laying on the trampoline and gazing at the stars as they appear one by one; fireworks; how everything stays relatively neat and clean and organized; afternoon naps; having the time to try new recipes; making breakfast for my kiddos (and me) – not eating in the car on the way to school; time for a second cup of coffee; watching the geese in the pond grow and get their adult feathers; blueberry picking; the beach; fruit & berries; matinée movies; extra snuggle time with Sadie; a change of pace; time to really reflect upon my blessings:)

images

About danardoyle

I am a Catholic, working wife and mother. I have three children ages 10, 16 and 23. I am extremely busy, as you can imagine. I aim each and every day to put God first in my life, to teach my children the Faith, to be a supportive spouse, keep the house in order, and do my job outside of the home well, too. That's an impossible task - without Divine intervention! Here, I hope to share my triumphs and struggles with other working moms in the same boat. I will share the tools I have discovered to making it all work - most days!
This entry was posted in gardening/nature and tagged , . Bookmark the permalink.