Decisions Made Simple

“Do nothing without consulting Him in the Tabernacle. But then act fearlessly, if you see it is for His honour and glory, never minding what others may think or say.

Fr. Willie Doyle

I don’t know who Fr. Willie Doyle was exactly, but I began “following” him on WordPress because we share a common last name!  I was intrigued!  A quote from his blog yesterday is the perfect introduction to what I want to speak about today.  This is the next chapter in “my visit from Jesus collection” I’ve been writing as of late.

Another truth I heard loud and clear when “Jesus” came to visit my house was this:  We don’t have to make others happy – we only have to concern ourselves with making God happy with us.  When our focus shifts from pleasing the world to pleasing God alone, it makes decisions ever so much more simple.

In any given situation, we can ask ourselves, “Would this be pleasing to God?”  If the answer is, “No,” then we know exactly what you must do!  It works on everything from deciding which movie to watch to deciding which job to take or whom to marry.  When pleasing God is the basis of all of our decisions – big and small – we find ourselves cutting away a bunch of junk – activities, things and sometimes people who pull us away from our relationship with Him.

images-1

Think of this: “If _____________ doesn’t edify my relationship with God, then it is not needed.”  I love that word – edify.  By the way – getting back to Fr. Willie’s quote – my favorite place to go when I have a decision to make (or for a myriad of other reasons) is to the tabernacle.  Jesus’ presence is calming and somehow always seems to put things in proper perspective for me.

My visitor also pointed out another truth:  “What comes into our eyes and into our ears can change our hearts.”  We need to be super careful about what we allow into our eyes and ears – is what we see and hear edifying to our relationship with God?  Is is just “junk,” or is it actually detrimental to the health of our soul?

images

Speaking of junk – I’m just about done with television!  It is so difficult to find something that is appropriate and edifying to watch as a family.  Even when we find that one show, the commercials punctuating the program are often terribly inappropriate!  We must try, try, try to minimize our exposure to the things that are ungodly.  I’m not saying to turn a blind eye to what is going on in the world.  We need to be aware of it in order to pray about it – and to do so fervently!  We just don’t want to allow ourselves to be so inundated by it all that we  become desensitized to things that once disturbed or appalled us.  Remember: what comes into our eyes and ears can change our hearts!

Have a blessed Sunday!

About danardoyle

I am a Catholic, working wife and mother. I have three children ages 10, 16 and 23. I am extremely busy, as you can imagine. I aim each and every day to put God first in my life, to teach my children the Faith, to be a supportive spouse, keep the house in order, and do my job outside of the home well, too. That's an impossible task - without Divine intervention! Here, I hope to share my triumphs and struggles with other working moms in the same boat. I will share the tools I have discovered to making it all work - most days!
This entry was posted in adoration, faith, Faith & Children, family, Prayer and tagged , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.