Just Do Today

(part 3 in the installment – Jesus came to visit…)

Life can be downright overwhelming.  There are surely times of celebrating and great joy, but there’s a lot of hard stuff, too.  We get ourselves into a big mess when we worry about what will happen tomorrow, three weeks or even a year from now.  If we are in pain now, we worry about how we will be able to withstand it – what shape we will be in six months down the line.  We can get ourselves all worked up and really off track.

My visitor last Thursday reminded me of some very good news.  She said, “Life is hard…but it’s o.k…I can do hard.”  Instead of dwelling on the fact that circumstances at the moment are nearly unbearable and allowing those negative tapes to play and replay in our heads, “Oh my gosh.  I can’t do this.  This is too hard.  I can’t bear it…blah, blah, blah.”   We can sit with the fact that “It hurts, but I’m o.k.  I’m still here.  Life is hard.  But I can do hard.”  We can do “hard” with God’s grace and only with God’s grace.  That’s why they call it AMAZING!

The great news is that we only have to do today.  God gives us grace for TODAY.   We cannot get a loan on grace for something that has not occurred yet and may never happen.

I’ve lived long enough to learn that life can turn on a dime.  Things can be completely different (or at least hopeful) in 24 hours.  If there’s on thing I could say to people who are feeling the desperation of suicidal thoughts or despair, it would be hold on.  Get some support.  Things can look very different in a small amount of time – especially when you are holding on to the one who holds you in the palm of His hand.  (Isaiah 49:16)  He never, EVER leaves us alone.

We only have to do today.   Oh, that is very good news!

OLYMPUS DIGITAL CAMERA

A little treasure from Hobby Lobby!

About danardoyle

I am a Catholic, working wife and mother. I have three children ages 10, 16 and 23. I am extremely busy, as you can imagine. I aim each and every day to put God first in my life, to teach my children the Faith, to be a supportive spouse, keep the house in order, and do my job outside of the home well, too. That's an impossible task - without Divine intervention! Here, I hope to share my triumphs and struggles with other working moms in the same boat. I will share the tools I have discovered to making it all work - most days!
This entry was posted in faith, Inspirational, Prayer and tagged , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.