Jesus Came to Visit Me on Thursday

Yes!  You heard it correctly – and no I haven’t lost it (at least I don’t think so:)  This past Thursday, I was visited by an incredible woman of faith.  I was supposed to be giving her some help/advice (at least that was the premise of the visit), but I think that she wound up helping me more that I helped her.  When she looked into my eyes and spoke with such love and conviction, I could have sworn I got a glimpse of Jesus, talking to me through this beautiful, blue-eyed disciple.  Her eyes were so compassionate and so piercing!  (After she left, my daughter commented on the depth of her eyes as well!)

When she left my home, my mind was just reeling with so many profound epiphanies she had sparked that I had to write as much as I could down to make sure the impact wouldn’t diminish with the passing of time.  You see, the things she told me – it wasn’t the first time I had heard them – perhaps it was their delivery that was special.  I’m not sure.

We are called to be Christ for one another.  I truly experienced what that meant on Thursday, because I would swear to you that Christ Himself visited my home that day.  Over the next few posts, I’d like to share what I heard from my visitor that has me all fired up!  Maybe some of the truths will resonate with you as well.

christcompanyscoming

One of the things we discussed was the Word of God – what it holds for each one of us.  I’m a religion teacher for goodness sake.  I know the importance of the Bible!  I have multiple copies highlighted, bookmarked and underlined.  I read the readings of the day each morning, but still the words often seem like a story from long ago.  My visitor reminded me that the Word of God is a LIVING WORD.  It has messages and promises for me to claim as my own today – in 2016.  God can literally speak to me through His Word now.  What does He want to say to me today?  I can’t wait to find out!

Now, I’m not saying that I’m free to interpret scripture however I choose.  As Catholics, we rely on the Magisterium of the Church to do that.  But wow!  When I think of God’s Word as “Living” – with the power to breathe life into my soul, or with one word cause a conversion in someone- now that gives me a reason to want to read more and know more!   I hope that you will think about what I just said, say a prayer to the Holy Spirit and pick up that bible!!

There’s a song on Christian radio whose refrain says, “Just hold on to the promises…”

Here are just a few of the promises from God’s Word that we can stand confidently (and humbly) upon today:

3783e1d86d9d1d5cf342be72e02a3fcd

Jeremiah 29:11
For I know the plans I have for you,” says the Lord. “They are plans for good and not for disaster, to give you a future and a hope.
Matthew 11:28-29
“Come to me, all you who are weary and burdened, and I will give you rest. Take my yoke upon you and learn from me, for I am gentle and humble in heart, and you will find rest for your souls.

John 14:2-3
“In My Father’s house are many dwelling places; if it were not so, I would have told you; for I go to prepare a place for you. “If I go and prepare a place for you, I will come again and receive you to Myself, that where I am, there you may be also.

Tomorrow, I will write about another revelation I had when Jesus came to visit!  May you find refuge and safety in the hearts of Jesus and Mary!

 

 

About danardoyle

I am a Catholic, working wife and mother. I have three children ages 10, 16 and 23. I am extremely busy, as you can imagine. I aim each and every day to put God first in my life, to teach my children the Faith, to be a supportive spouse, keep the house in order, and do my job outside of the home well, too. That's an impossible task - without Divine intervention! Here, I hope to share my triumphs and struggles with other working moms in the same boat. I will share the tools I have discovered to making it all work - most days!
This entry was posted in evangelization, faith, Inspirational, Prayer, scripture and tagged , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.