My apologies/Vocation Sunday

Imagine my surprise when I went to mass this morning and learned that the gospel was that of the Good Shepherd – not about the Eucharist for which I wrote extensively last night!  I’m not sorry that I wrote about the Eucharist, but am sorry that I had the wrong gospel.   Silly me!

Unknown

Today is Vocations Sunday.  I hope that your priest mentioned it today at your Church!  This morning I read a post on the subject and would like to quote something that stood out for me.  It all comes down to this:

We all have a vocation in life, and our sanctity largely depends on our conformity with that vocation and our fulfillment of the duties that attach to that vocation.  (https://fatherdoyle.com)

If you are a priest, how faithful are you to the calling that you received and to the promises you made at your ordination?

If you are married, how well do you live out your vocation that you said yes to in the Sacrament of Holy Matrimony?

If you are a nun, or consecrated single…

You get the idea!!

I think it is important to mention here that we should not be asking the young what they want to be when they grow up.  That’s the wrong question.  We should be asking them, “What do you think God wants you to do with the gifts and talents He gave you to best serve His Kingdom here on earth?”  You want peace, fulfillment and joy in life?  That only comes in following God’s plan for your life – not in “bucking” it.  Whatever He asks, as difficult as it may sometimes be, is in your best interest – your eternal interest – and may be connected to the eternal interests of others.  Can there be anything more rewarding than “catching” souls for Jesus?  John Paul II often encouraged people to never fear God’s call.  Again and again He said, “Be not afraid.”

Let us pray today that all may hear the voice of God in their hearts and respond as Mother Mary did in her FIAT, “Yes, Lord.”   May we have the courage to answer His call generously, fearlessly and whole-heartedly!  Yes!  May we have the courage and grace to live out our calling to the very best of our abilities – day by day – moment by moment.  Yes!  When we one day meet our Maker, may He say, “Well done, good and faithful servant!”  YES!

About danardoyle

I am a Catholic, working wife and mother. I have three children ages 10, 16 and 23. I am extremely busy, as you can imagine. I aim each and every day to put God first in my life, to teach my children the Faith, to be a supportive spouse, keep the house in order, and do my job outside of the home well, too. That's an impossible task - without Divine intervention! Here, I hope to share my triumphs and struggles with other working moms in the same boat. I will share the tools I have discovered to making it all work - most days!
This entry was posted in Catholic, Faith & Children, Prayer and tagged , , . Bookmark the permalink.