Be Still and Know

God sends me “love letters” from time to time.  I treasure these little notes, as I am a very slow learner, and the reassurances really strengthen my faith.  I have a little collection going on my refrigerator.  These little cards and scraps of paper have literally been picked up off of the ground at times when I’ve most needed to hear their messages.  Isn’t God amazing?

OLYMPUS DIGITAL CAMERA

my refrigerator collection

You wouldn’t believe it, but the card with the rainbow on it was left on my desk at school anonymously.  When I left my classroom to head back over to the main building, there was a rainbow in the sky above our school.  I believe that God wanted me to take a second look at what was on that card – and to take it to heart!

OLYMPUS DIGITAL CAMERA

Jeremiah Card

Most recently, I have struggled greatly with something – something I fear.  Much of it is a fear of the unknown – a challenge for a control freak like myself!  I have prayed a lot about this thing, but I guess I never really let it go.  (I thought I had)  I was very busy trying to “help God” work out the details of what I thought was His plan/His will for me.  Oh how stupid of me!  I lost my peace in the process.  Then, one afternoon as I walked back from the chapel to my classroom, a tiny purple corner of something caught my eye as it was wedged underneath and between rocks.  At first I walked past it, then something made me go back to find it and to check it out.  I bent down, pushed the rocks aside to reveal the purple rectangle, and discovered that it was, in fact, a magnetic bookmark with a profound message for me, “Be Still and Know that I am God.”

OLYMPUS DIGITAL CAMERA

OLYMPUS DIGITAL CAMERA

Now this is part of a Psalm that I know very well.  In fact I have it hanging on the wall in my hallway above a canvas print of a picture I took of a favorite waterfall.

Psalm 46

God is our refuge and strength,
    a very present[a] help in trouble.
Therefore we will not fear, though the earth should change,
    though the mountains shake in the heart of the sea;
though its waters roar and foam,
    though the mountains tremble with its tumult…

10 “Be still, and know that I am God!
    I am exalted among the nations,
    I am exalted in the earth.”
11 The Lord of hosts is with us;
    the God of Jacob is our refuge.

God was telling me to cease my activity – to relinquish – to let go.  He doesn’t need me to help Him work out the details!  He is God, and if He wills (whatever it is), then He will see that it happens in the manner and in the time that He wishes.   Oh my goodness!  There is so much freedom and so much peace in that simple (but Oh so profound) verse.  Be still and know that I am God!  God is in control.  God wins!  Whew!  What a relief!

Lord, please push me aside if I try to get in the way of Your plans.  Please forgive my lack of trust.  Lord, I love you.  Help me to love you better.  Help me to grow closer to you with every breath that I take.  Amen.

Apparently, I cannot upload videos anymore as they are not supported without a paid upgrade.  REALLY!?  Check out Word of God Speak by Mercy Me on You Tube – a beautiful reflection on “Be Still and Know…”

 

About danardoyle

I am a Catholic, working wife and mother. I have three children ages 10, 16 and 23. I am extremely busy, as you can imagine. I aim each and every day to put God first in my life, to teach my children the Faith, to be a supportive spouse, keep the house in order, and do my job outside of the home well, too. That's an impossible task - without Divine intervention! Here, I hope to share my triumphs and struggles with other working moms in the same boat. I will share the tools I have discovered to making it all work - most days!
This entry was posted in faith, Prayer and tagged , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.