Because of You

Fear, shame, low self esteem, lack of trust, problems in school, problems with peers, difficulty sleeping, all you want to do is sleep, depression, suicidal thoughts, withdrawing…the list goes on.  All of these can be signs/symptoms that a child has been abused.  Many of these adjectives and phrases could have described me at different points in my life, because I was sexually abused as a child.

This morning, I heard the song Because of You by Kelly Clarkson on the radio.  I found myself singing every word like an anthem.

I have received substantial healing in my life because of my faith.  That is not to discredit psychological help.  I did receive help lots of this kind of help many years ago too.   I’m not going to lie and say that I never asked, “God, where were you?” because I’ve surely had those moments.  I’ve come to the realization; however, it was God who helped me get through this dark time in my life, and helped me to keep my sanity.  That’s huge!

If you have suffered rape, incest, physical abuse or other kind of trauma, I’d like to share my story with you.  It’s a story of hope for healing.  April is child abuse prevention month.  If by education one more child could be protected, that would be an answer to prayer.  If by sharing my story, I could give a survivor hope for a brighter future, then that would be remarkable.

During this month – and all throughout the year – please don’t forget to pray for the survivors of abuse that they may get the protection, help and healing that they need.  God Bless!

About danardoyle

I am a Catholic, working wife and mother. I have three children ages 10, 16 and 23. I am extremely busy, as you can imagine. I aim each and every day to put God first in my life, to teach my children the Faith, to be a supportive spouse, keep the house in order, and do my job outside of the home well, too. That's an impossible task - without Divine intervention! Here, I hope to share my triumphs and struggles with other working moms in the same boat. I will share the tools I have discovered to making it all work - most days!
This entry was posted in health/well being, Informational, Prayer, suffering and tagged , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.