Lord, Drive Out All Fear.

fear3815I’ve really been struggling with fear lately.  I know that I have not had much to say here.  I always try to write things that are uplifting, and I just don’t feel that I’ve had anything to offer – perhaps because of this oppressive sense of being overwhelmed and filled with fear.  I know that fear is not of God, thus I have begun to pray for perfection in love, as scripture tells us:

There is no fear in love, but perfect love casts out fear; for fear has to do with punishment, and whoever fears has not reached perfection in love. 1 John 4:18

I have also begun to pray for the Holy Spirit to just “take me over,” so that I may be at peace with God’s Will whatever that may be.

A very wise priest gave me some insight today.  He reminded me that even Jesus experienced anxiety and fear prior to His passion and death.  With His complete submission to the Father’s Will, as He prayed in the Garden of Gethsemane, “…Not My Will, Father, but Your Will,” He was able to walk the path to Calvary with total abandonment.  Then, God brought the best possible good out of it all – the Resurrection!

I stumbled upon this article on one of my favorite blogs, The Now Word by Mark Mallet.  If you are wrestling with fear, or lacking courage…If you want to trust God, but are having trouble, I hope that you will find this encouraging and helpful.  I did!

One other resource I found is this Way of the Cross for Greater Trust – Perfect for a Friday night if I must say so myself!

About danardoyle

I am a Catholic, working wife and mother. I have three children ages 10, 16 and 23. I am extremely busy, as you can imagine. I aim each and every day to put God first in my life, to teach my children the Faith, to be a supportive spouse, keep the house in order, and do my job outside of the home well, too. That's an impossible task - without Divine intervention! Here, I hope to share my triumphs and struggles with other working moms in the same boat. I will share the tools I have discovered to making it all work - most days!
This entry was posted in faith, Lent, Prayer, scripture and tagged , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.