Our Lady of Tickfaw Revisited

A little over a year ago, I wrote a post entitled, “Our Lady of Tickfaw.”  On a prompting or inspiration, I took a ride to see the place – only 30 minutes from my home – where the Blessed Mother is said to have appeared in March of 1989.  I posted pictures of the site.  It was grown over and run down.  People flocked there by the thousands 25 years ago.  Many saw miraculous images.  A few received healing.  Many returned to pray, and to thank God. As the years passed, however, the crowds dwindled until visitors were few and far between.

Just a few weeks ago, following another inspiration, I was drawn back to this place – this simple 7 acre field.  To my (very pleasant) surprise, it appeared to be “on the mend.”  I wrote to the owner of the property, and learned that she and a small group of people have begun saying the rosary on Saturday mornings at 10:30 a.m. in the chapel on the grounds.  I was invited to participate, and so I did!  It was a wonderfully peace-filled experience!

A small group has pulled together to help restore the grounds of Our Lady of Tickfaw.  They meet to pray, to mow grass and to weed flower beds.  Some give of their artistic talents in refurbishing statues on the grounds.  There is a beautiful transformation taking place  – both of the property and in the hearts of those who gather there.

If you would like to visit this special place, the directions are quite simple.  For my Louisiana friends:  Take I-55 north past Hammond. Take EXIT 36 for Tickfaw.  At the stop light take a left.  Take a right onto Antioch Road.  Not far passed Antioch Baptist Church, you will see a chain link fence.  Our Lady of Tickfaw is behind that fence on your left.

OLYMPUS DIGITAL CAMERA

The chapel with newly painted statues

OLYMPUS DIGITAL CAMERA

freshly painted fence in the Mary garden near the fountain

OLYMPUS DIGITAL CAMERA

the original sign denoting the property

OLYMPUS DIGITAL CAMERA

Padre Pio

OLYMPUS DIGITAL CAMERA

the Sacred Heart of Jesus

 

 

About danardoyle

I am a Catholic, working wife and mother. I have three children ages 10, 16 and 23. I am extremely busy, as you can imagine. I aim each and every day to put God first in my life, to teach my children the Faith, to be a supportive spouse, keep the house in order, and do my job outside of the home well, too. That's an impossible task - without Divine intervention! Here, I hope to share my triumphs and struggles with other working moms in the same boat. I will share the tools I have discovered to making it all work - most days!
This entry was posted in faith, gardening/nature, Informational, photography, Prayer, travel/my hometown and tagged , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.