Sweet Sunday in Independence, LA

We went for a Sunday drive this afternoon to look for three little roadside chapels in neighboring Independence, Louisiana.  Our journey took us just north of Hammond off of Interstate 55.  We found only one of the chapels open for visitors – St. Joseph Chapel, off of 1065 a quarter of a mile past Blackcat Rd.

The chapel dedicated to St. Expedito was only able to be viewed from our car.  Sadly, a junk yard – for lack of a better term –  has sprung up literally right against the left hand side of the tiny church.    I’d never heard of a St. Expedito, so I did an internet search.  The article is most interesting.  You may click on the link above to learn more.

Lastly, we passed the Liuzza Strawberry Farm on the way to Our Lady of Perpetual Help Chapel.  We couldn’t get inside of this chapel but were able to view a little grotto honoring St. Francis Xavier Cabrini round back.  I’m sorry these photos are not in any particular order – too tired to rearrange:)

OLYMPUS DIGITAL CAMERA

Liuzza’s property

OLYMPUS DIGITAL CAMERA

Liuzza’s farm

OLYMPUS DIGITAL CAMERA

OLPH Chapel

OLYMPUS DIGITAL CAMERA

OLPH Chapel

OLYMPUS DIGITAL CAMERA

OLPH

OLYMPUS DIGITAL CAMERA

The Strawberry Fields

OLYMPUS DIGITAL CAMERA

St. Joseph’s Chapel

OLYMPUS DIGITAL CAMERA

at St. Joseph’s

OLYMPUS DIGITAL CAMERA

St. Joseph’s

OLYMPUS DIGITAL CAMERA

Lighting a candle at St. Joseph’s

OLYMPUS DIGITAL CAMERA

tiny town of Independence

OLYMPUS DIGITAL CAMERA

St. Expedito’s Chapel

OLYMPUS DIGITAL CAMERA

Liuzza’s Farm

OLYMPUS DIGITAL CAMERA

St. Joseph’s

OLYMPUS DIGITAL CAMERA

Closeup of the Altar at St. Joseph’s

About danardoyle

I am a Catholic, working wife and mother. I have three children ages 10, 16 and 23. I am extremely busy, as you can imagine. I aim each and every day to put God first in my life, to teach my children the Faith, to be a supportive spouse, keep the house in order, and do my job outside of the home well, too. That's an impossible task - without Divine intervention! Here, I hope to share my triumphs and struggles with other working moms in the same boat. I will share the tools I have discovered to making it all work - most days!
This entry was posted in Catholic, Catholicism, photo entry, photography, Prayer, Saints, travel/my hometown, Uniquely Catholic and tagged , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.