I Saw God Today

This past week, I shared an i photo slideshow with my students set to “I Saw God Today” by George Strait.  I wanted them to be inspired to “stop and smell the roses”-  The world we live in now is so hectic and noisy.  I also realize that we can cover a lot of information in class, but if the kids don’t develop a personal relationship with God, none of the info. will matter much.

You know, If we don’t purposefully look for beauty as we go throughout our days, we will miss so much that God wants to show us.  I challenged my students to snap a few “I Saw God Today” pictures over the upcoming two weeks.  We will then compile them into a slideshow and share our inspiration with each other.

After giving my students this assignment, I realized that I had not picked up my camera in quite sometime ( I used to carry it with me practically everywhere).  Upon arriving home from work, I took a little walk around the neighborhood – camera in hand.  In the dead of winter, finding beauty can be more challenging, but it’s there.  One must simply walk more slowly and look more closely.  The same rings true during the dark times in life.  There are still moments of joy to be found, if we only look purposefully and allow ourselves to be guided by the Holy Spirit.

Here are the little treasures that I found on my God walk:

OLYMPUS DIGITAL CAMERA

a really blue bluebird

OLYMPUS DIGITAL CAMERA

dead tree stump – strangely beautiful!

OLYMPUS DIGITAL CAMERA

little fellow making sweet music

OLYMPUS DIGITAL CAMERA

pinecone from atop

OLYMPUS DIGITAL CAMERA

my neighbor’s dog – gorgeous eyes!

OLYMPUS DIGITAL CAMERA

some lettuce I should have picked already

OLYMPUS DIGITAL CAMERA

butter leaf lettuce

OLYMPUS DIGITAL CAMERA

a lizard enjoying the sun with me

OLYMPUS DIGITAL CAMERA

amazing color

OLYMPUS DIGITAL CAMERA

a different perspective

OLYMPUS DIGITAL CAMERA

Silky milkweed seeds

OLYMPUS DIGITAL CAMERA

little surprise under the birdfeeder:)

About danardoyle

I am a Catholic, working wife and mother. I have three children ages 10, 16 and 23. I am extremely busy, as you can imagine. I aim each and every day to put God first in my life, to teach my children the Faith, to be a supportive spouse, keep the house in order, and do my job outside of the home well, too. That's an impossible task - without Divine intervention! Here, I hope to share my triumphs and struggles with other working moms in the same boat. I will share the tools I have discovered to making it all work - most days!
This entry was posted in I Saw God Today, Inspirational, photo entry, photography and tagged , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.