My Favorite Gift

OLYMPUS DIGITAL CAMERA

Immaculate Heart of Mary

Isn’t she lovely?  I received many really nice gifts this year, but this one was a special surprise.  My brother and his wife asked me what I’d like for Christmas.  I told them that I really didn’t want or need anything.  I asked them to surprise me.  (They have impeccable taste!)

My sister- in- law told me that she saw this in a local gift shop and knew that she had to buy it for me.  I am sooooo glad that she did!  The look on Mother Mary’s face is so tender and sincere.  I never tire of looking at this image of her.

Ironically (or not so), the February before last, I consecrated myself to Jesus through Mary using Fr. Gaitley’s book 33 Days to Morning Glory that I’ve already talked about here.  I’ve felt called to pray the rosary for years, however, I must confess that my heart was never truly in it.  It seems monotonous to me.  Well, this past year, 2015, I’ve grown greatly in my relationship with Mary.  I now often pray more than one rosary a day, as I’ve become dependent on the peace that it gives me.  I need that peace.

Once upon a time, I was afraid that becoming close to Mary would take from my most important relationship – my relationship with Jesus.  Instead, I have found that the more I meditate on the mysteries of the rosary and ask Mary for her intercession, the closer she brings me to Jesus.

That makes the picture of Mary even more special – a perfect gift I will cherish always!

 

 

 

About danardoyle

I am a Catholic, working wife and mother. I have three children ages 10, 16 and 23. I am extremely busy, as you can imagine. I aim each and every day to put God first in my life, to teach my children the Faith, to be a supportive spouse, keep the house in order, and do my job outside of the home well, too. That's an impossible task - without Divine intervention! Here, I hope to share my triumphs and struggles with other working moms in the same boat. I will share the tools I have discovered to making it all work - most days!
This entry was posted in Catholicism, Christmas, Prayer and tagged , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.