Celebrating the Feast of the Epiphany

There are just two quick notes I want to mention here with regard to the feast of the Epiphany (traditionally celebrated on January 6th) which we will celebrate at mass tomorrow:feast-of-the-epiphany

#1  If you have not watched the documentary entitled The Star of Bethlehem, it is so worth one hour of your life.  It is amazing!  The man who studied this proposes that God wrote history into the stars.  When He created the world, He knew precisely when Jesus would enter the world, and when He would be crucified.  It is literally written in the stars and alluded to in the bible!  He also explains the Star of Bethlehem and what was so special about it that would cause the Wise Men to travel for months to the place where it stopped – Bethlehem!

#2 There is a custom that originated in Germany of blessing your home on the feast of the Epiphany.  With all of the evil spirits prowling about our world, every family and home can use some extra graces and fortifications!   This is a fun thing to do as a family, the domestic church – a great way to start the new year!images-1

About danardoyle

I am a Catholic, working wife and mother. I have three children ages 10, 16 and 23. I am extremely busy, as you can imagine. I aim each and every day to put God first in my life, to teach my children the Faith, to be a supportive spouse, keep the house in order, and do my job outside of the home well, too. That's an impossible task - without Divine intervention! Here, I hope to share my triumphs and struggles with other working moms in the same boat. I will share the tools I have discovered to making it all work - most days!
This entry was posted in Catholic, Christmas, education/teaching, Faith & Children, family, Prayer and tagged , , , . Bookmark the permalink.