Breaking My Silence

I’ve stopped writing altogether the last month.  Part of me needed the break – time to reflect on where I’ve been and where I’m going – what God wants of me.  I’m not entirely sure I have the answers.

The last time I wrote, I think I eluded to my growing desire for solitude – to kind of “go off grid” so to speak.  I don’t think I could ever really do that completely, but the need for simplicity is there.  I have been finding emails, Facebook, responding to comments, etc. all very overwhelming.  I’ve needed to step out – take a step back from all of the technology.

These past couple of years have been very difficult for my family.  I know that all families have their difficulties.  The question is where do we go from here?

That is a question for which I do have a definitive answer.  We will keep our eyed fixed upon Jesus, our Help, our Savior, our only Hope, and we will keep putting one collective foot in front of the other.

I’ve been doing a lot of praying and spiritual reading.  I read every new post that Mark Mallet writes.  I read and re- read the Volumes books.  I’ve been studying Catholic prophecy from Saints and former popes.  I’ve been reading a lot about Mary’s appearances at Fatima. I believe that there is something significant about the upcoming 100 year anniversary of those apparitions.

My husband was getting concerned that I was getting obsessed with “doom and gloom.”  Ironically, I find the prophecies and the words of Mother Mary to the visionaries quite comforting – very hopeful.

I do believe that 2016 will be a very tough year.  It doesn’t take a prophet to tell us that as a human race, we are headed for trouble.  As a matter of fact, we’re already in trouble!  When society as a whole has told God to “butt out” of our lives, He will not force Himself on us.  Because of His great love for us, He respects our free will.  We are destroying ourselves.

More important that any destruction we have done to our bodies, or to our environment is the damage we have done to our souls.  Millions of souls are being lost, and I have no doubt that this causes Our Heavenly Father, Jesus and our Heavenly Mother great pain and sadness.

Ours is not the only period in history when it has been extremely difficult to be a Christian.  I do believe, however, that ours is likely the most difficult time to raise HOLY, happy kids.  As a mother, I grieve for what my children have had to go up against.  In my weaker moments, I worry about their futures.  Then, I recall our family consecration to the Hearts of Jesus and Mary, and I return to my senses.  I know that Jesus and Mary will take care of all of our necessities and concerns according to God’s Holy Will.  What more could I ask?  The world has spun out of control, but God is still in control!

The hope that the triumph of the Immaculate Heart of Mary and the reign of the Sacred Heart of Jesus are the lights that will follow this time of darkness keeps me going.  Jesus told St. Faustina that before He comes as Just Judge, He would come as King of Mercy.  The pope has  proclaimed this the Jubilee Year of Mercy.

Let us throw ourselves and our families on the Mercy of God.  Let us spend some time reflecting on our NEED for mercy.  In a world where evil has been labeled good and wrong, right, many would have us believe that there is no such thing as sin anymore.  This belief is grievously, grievously wrong!  So much is at stake!

Let us offer all of our prayers, works, joys and especially our suffering for the conversion of our own souls, those in our families and those our brothers and sisters all over our world.

In 2016, I do not wish for health, wealth and happiness for you and for me.   I pray that God will give us all the graces we need to love God more and truly put Him first in our lives… to live more simply and to love others moreto forgive those who have hurt us and to have the courage to ask forgiveness ourselves.

Have a blessed 2016, The Year of Mercy!

images

About danardoyle

I am a Catholic, working wife and mother. I have three children ages 10, 16 and 23. I am extremely busy, as you can imagine. I aim each and every day to put God first in my life, to teach my children the Faith, to be a supportive spouse, keep the house in order, and do my job outside of the home well, too. That's an impossible task - without Divine intervention! Here, I hope to share my triumphs and struggles with other working moms in the same boat. I will share the tools I have discovered to making it all work - most days!
This entry was posted in Catholic, faith, family, forgiveness and tagged , , . Bookmark the permalink.