Reflection on the Readings for Sunday, September 20, 2015

Behold, God is my helper;
the Lord sustains my life.
Freely will I offer you sacrifice;
I will praise your name, O LORD, for its goodness.

What the psalmist says today really struck a chord with me.  I do believe with all my heart that it is the Lord alone that sustains my life – and yours.  Every breath that I take, every beat of my heart only occurs because He wills it.  Everything I have comes from Him – my paycheck comes from Him.  My husband and children came to me from Him.  This is why I go to Holy Mass and to adoration – not to be entertained or to “get something” (though often I do receive peace and grace).  I go because it is the very least that I can do for the God  who sustains me, helps me, feeds me, guides me… I will praise Your Name, O Lord, for its goodness!

Sunday’s readings

In the second reading, I was reminded of the mess we find our world in today.  I guess some problems have existed since man and woman were created.  In James we read, Where jealousy and selfish ambition exist, there is disorder and every foul practice. You covet but do not possess. You kill and envy but you cannot obtain; you fight and wage war.”  Our world is in critical condition due to mankind’s selfish ambition.  We have banished God from our country, our schools, our government and have replaced religion with all kids of “isms” – relativism, materialism, agnosticism, secular humanism.  We are truly reaping what we have sown as a human race.  The sad part is that our children and grandchildren did not ask for this, and yet they are having to try to find their way amidst the cyclone of evil threatening to suck them in or pull them under.  Our children are suffering from depression, anxiety, post traumatic stress, physical and educational difficulties in record proportions.  I don’t know about you, but my greatest concern right now is for the safety of my children’s souls.  Secondly,  I am concerned about the many, many souls being drawn from safety to demise by really deceptive, evil forces.  I pray that God, in His great mercy, will intervene and set the world aright.

In the gospel, Jesus told His disciples about the kind of death He would suffer, and yet they did not understand His words – What Jesus was saying was too awful for them to consider, perhaps – horrifying.  You know our faith is full of ironies – one being the cross.  A cross is a torture/killing device – just the sight of it is upsetting, and yet, it also becomes a great sign of comfort and hope, because Jesus conquered death and rose on the third day.

Jesus then tells the disciples “Whoever receives one child such as this in my name, receives me;and whoever receives me, receives not me but the One who sent me.”  Our society has not received the child – Jesus – or the One who sent Him!  We’ve banished all three!  God has to be beside Himself with hurt and anger over the way that humanity has so little regard for human life.  Parenthood is not seen as a gift but a right.  Children are not safe in their mothers’ wombs.  So many children are not treasured but are seen as burdens.

For the sake of His sorrowful passion, have mercy on us and on the whole world.!

About danardoyle

I am a Catholic, working wife and mother. I have three children ages 10, 16 and 23. I am extremely busy, as you can imagine. I aim each and every day to put God first in my life, to teach my children the Faith, to be a supportive spouse, keep the house in order, and do my job outside of the home well, too. That's an impossible task - without Divine intervention! Here, I hope to share my triumphs and struggles with other working moms in the same boat. I will share the tools I have discovered to making it all work - most days!
This entry was posted in Prayer, scripture, Scripture Reflections and tagged , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

