Reflections on the Readings for Sunday, August 30, 2015

Readings for Sunday, August 30

In today’s readings, God calls us to truly live the gospel – not just read it!  It is easy for us to read about Jesus fussing at the Pharisees and think to ourselves, “Those rotten Pharisees.”  If we think that we are better than them, then we are acting like them.  Jesus is not only correcting them sternly and repeatedly, He is giving us instruction on how to live our faith as well.

In the world we live in, there is so much emphasis on physical appearance.  There are literally thousands of products and procedures guaranteed to turn the clock back!  It is such a temptation to fall into making appearance a top priority, as society almost shuns the old, the fat, the wrinkled, etc.  The gospel reminds us that it is of the utmost importance to spend more time and effort working on that which is everlasting – our soul.  For all eternity, we will live on in either heaven or hell.  That’s one LONG TERM commitment.  We need to see ourselves as God sees us!  We need to spend time beautifying our insides.

How do we make our insides beautiful?  It’s rather simple.  The more time we spend with God in His Holy Word, Jesus in the Blessed Sacrament and the Holy Spirit in prayer, the more we will become like Him.  He that is pure is the only one who can purify us and make us clean vessels – so that He may live within us, fill us – and so that we may bring His love to the world around us Sooooo desperately in need of Him!!

I shared this video with my students this past week.  I think that it especially speaks to message of the second reading today.  I hope that you enjoy it and are inspired:)

Matthew West video, “Do Something.”

About danardoyle

I am a Catholic, working wife and mother. I have three children ages 10, 16 and 23. I am extremely busy, as you can imagine. I aim each and every day to put God first in my life, to teach my children the Faith, to be a supportive spouse, keep the house in order, and do my job outside of the home well, too. That's an impossible task - without Divine intervention! Here, I hope to share my triumphs and struggles with other working moms in the same boat. I will share the tools I have discovered to making it all work - most days!
This entry was posted in Prayer, scripture, Scripture Reflections and tagged , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

