Reflections on the Readings for Sunday, July 19th, 2015

Readings for Sunday, July 19

The very first line of the first reading really grabbed my attention:

“Woe to the shepherds who mislead and scatter the flock of my pasture,” says the Lord.  I wondered if Jeremiah – being a prophet and all – was prophesying about the year 2015!  Are we not having this problem in our Church today?   The Church is undergoing such tremendous persecution and division.  Sometimes, it leads me (momentarily) to internal panic.  Someone very wise recently reminded me that the Church has gone through plenty of really turbulent times in the past – AND that it has come out stronger each time.  Oh, I do hope that this is the case this go round!

Regarding the second reading and the gospel, I was reminded of a conversation I recently had with a young man trying to juggle all of the parts of his busy life and new career.  He told me that He knows that Jesus is our Peace, and that he wants a relationship with Christ, but that he doesn’t have the time.  Oh my goodness, this was so sad to me!   I tried hard not to lecture, as I knew that he would instantly be turned off by that.  I simply asked him if he had been to the adoration chapel or said his rosary lately.  He didn’t really give me a straight answer, but quickly changed the subject.

Last week, I ran into this fellow again – on a Monday.  He was smiling, whistling and had a spring in his step, even though he had a rough day at work.  I commented on his apparent lightheartedness. He proudly told me that he had gone to the adoration chapel for some “One on one time” with Jesus instead of going to the gym after work that day.  I said, “You seeeee!”  He gave me a hug, then we went on to speak of other things.jesus-resting

In the gospel today, Jesus tells the apostles who were exhausted from traveling, preaching and teaching to come away with him to a deserted place and rest awhile.  Jesus was telling them that it is o.k. to take a break – to take care of themselves, however, He also invited them to do so with Him.  As St. Paul tells the Ephesians, Christ is our peace.  If we will only set aside a bit of time to rest awhile with Him.  We do have the time!  We can’t afford not to have the time!

For further reflection on resting with Jesus, read my post entitled, “Jesus Took Vacation Too!”  Thanks and God Bless!

images-3

About danardoyle

I am a Catholic, working wife and mother. I have three children ages 10, 16 and 23. I am extremely busy, as you can imagine. I aim each and every day to put God first in my life, to teach my children the Faith, to be a supportive spouse, keep the house in order, and do my job outside of the home well, too. That's an impossible task - without Divine intervention! Here, I hope to share my triumphs and struggles with other working moms in the same boat. I will share the tools I have discovered to making it all work - most days!
This entry was posted in Prayer, scripture, Scripture Reflections and tagged , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

