What’s on my mind? What’s on yours?

ucm_slide_9aFirst of all –  I really did not feel like getting out today, but I’m so glad that I did.  I truly enjoyed my time with my kids, my niece and my friends from school.  We visited the very funky, very cool UCM Museum in Abita Springs, played in the splash park, then had an outstanding pizza at the always entertaining & delicious Momma D’s.

I’ve been having lots of questions lately, and the answers are not coming very quickly.  ( I am praying about them – well most of them)

1.  Is there anything worthwhile or morally redeeming on television?  What little there is – can it be worth $100 a month?  I was watching something last night on tv, got up, left the room to get something then came back.  The programming had changed.  What was on the Family Channel (Hello!) was so offensive, I won’t even honor it with further comment!

2.  How can we make cutbacks as a family to live more simply?  This world is so full of STUFF.  We don’t need so much stuff!  (And groceries are sooooo expensive!)

3.  Should I keep utilizing Facebook, Instagram, Twitter, WordPress, etc., or is it a waste of time that could be better used?  I joined these as an evangelization tool.  I suspect that the only people who are tuning in are those who do not need evangelizing (You know, preaching to the choir).  Sometimes I enjoy this distraction, and sometimes I honestly find it all overwhelming.

4.  Some of the walls in our house need touching up, but we are out of touch up paint – perfect time to choose a new color – but which one(s)?  Do I really want to spend my treasured free time during the summer painting?  Ugh.

5. Should I attend this 2 year program I’ve been “nominated” to take in order to become a commissioned lay church minister?    Am I not cooperating with God’s plan if I refuse?  Does He even want this for me?

6.  Should I cancel my YMCA membership or make myself go and use it?  I seem to have lost my motivation and steam.  I want a fit body, but don’t really want to have to work hard at it.  I’m ashamed to say that I lack discipline.

Guess I have more praying to do:)

Are you wrestling with some nagging questions right now, too?

About danardoyle

I am a Catholic, working wife and mother. I have three children ages 10, 16 and 23. I am extremely busy, as you can imagine. I aim each and every day to put God first in my life, to teach my children the Faith, to be a supportive spouse, keep the house in order, and do my job outside of the home well, too. That's an impossible task - without Divine intervention! Here, I hope to share my triumphs and struggles with other working moms in the same boat. I will share the tools I have discovered to making it all work - most days!
This entry was posted in evangelization, faith, Faith & Children, family, Prayer and tagged , , . Bookmark the permalink.

2 Responses to What’s on my mind? What’s on yours?

  1. Thanks for sharing,

    As to the two year course, caution. If it leads to actually assisting the Priest BUT not assuming ANY of his roles, then OK. Just be careful and check before “leaping”

    PRAY Much

    Luke 9:23 “And he said to all: If any man will come after me, let him deny himself, and take up his *cross**daily*, and follow me”

    *Is not a platitude, but a roadmap.*

    *Continued Blessings,*

    *Patrick*

  2. Sue Elvis says:

    Dana,

    I’m trying to find answers to a few questions of my own, mostly to do with what I should be doing in my ‘spare’ time. Should I be blogging and if so, what direction should I be taking? If I don’t blog, what else would I do?

    I’m also pondering a more simple life and ways not to waste time and money. I question my involvement in Facebook regularly. Some days I resolve to delete my account because I find social media overwhelming, and other times, I enjoy the contact with friends and readers of my blog. Our house could do with repainting too, but we’d meet to declutter so we can get to the walls and that sounds like hard work! We don’t watch TV (or very little) so that one is easy, and no one has suggested I do a course so no decisions needed there! But for your 6th question, you could give up your membership, buy a good pair of shoes and run! It’s free, good exercise and you could explore nature or your neighbourhood at the same time. Running as a family is a wonderful thing to do. And while you’re running along, you can ponder all your questions and maybe God will give you some answers. God bless you!

Leave a Reply

