Just One More

imagesI’ve said before that some of my most read posts are the ones about “anxiety.”   After going back and re-reading them myself, I think I would be remiss if I did not mention a couple of things I’ve learned about anxiety as a symptom of a physiological problem over the last few years.

First, I learned that anxiety can be a result of insufficient amounts of serotonin in the brain.  serotonin is a chemical made in the body that helps your neurons communicate with each other, and contribute to a feeling of well-being.  I’m not a scientist, and I don’t know the specifics of how it all works together.  I just know that when there is not enough serotonin, anxiety and/or depression often result.

I also learned that anxiety can sometimes be related to a vitamin D deficiency.  I have a friend who was suffering terribly from anxiety.  After doing blood work, her doctor discovered that her vitamin D levels were very low.  Her anxiety level decreased tremendously as her levels were brought back up to normal with supplementation.

My point is that sometimes, anxiety isn’t a matter of not trusting in the Lord or having a lack of faith.  Sometimes, it may have physiological origins that need to be addressed.  If you have tried prayer and exercise and still do not seem to be able to overcome those anxious feelings, don’t be afraid to ask for help. God might just work through your physician to bring relief!

About danardoyle

I am a Catholic, working wife and mother. I have three children ages 10, 16 and 23. I am extremely busy, as you can imagine. I aim each and every day to put God first in my life, to teach my children the Faith, to be a supportive spouse, keep the house in order, and do my job outside of the home well, too. That's an impossible task - without Divine intervention! Here, I hope to share my triumphs and struggles with other working moms in the same boat. I will share the tools I have discovered to making it all work - most days!
This entry was posted in health/well being, Prayer and tagged , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

