Reflections on the Readings for Sunday, May 17, 2015

Readings for May 17

In the first reading we see that Matthias is chosen to take the place of Judas, the apostle who hanged himself after betraying Jesus.  Not a whole lot is known about this (sometimes forgotten) apostle.  Here’s what we do know:

UnknownMatthias was born in Bethlehem and was a descendant of the tribe of Judah.  He was taught by Simeon, the one who received the child Jesus in the temple. He was a follower of Jesus from the very beginning His public ministry.  Matthias was originally Zacchaeus.  Zacchaeus was the short man who climbed the sycamore tree in order to see Jesus (Luke 19:1-10). He repented of his former life after Jesus went to visit with him in his home.

Here’s some lagnaippe, as we like to say in Louisiana – a little extra – a song to help you remember the original 12 apostles.  It’s to the tune of the “Happy Birthday” song we all sing at birthday parties.

Andrew, Simon, John, Jude

Philip, Peter, Matthew,

Judas, James Lesser and Greater

Thomas, Bartholomew!

In the gospel, we see Jesus and His apostles in the upper room.  He is praying for His apostles with His eyes lifted toward heaven.  He knows what is about to happen – His immense suffering and death, and yet, He is praying for His friends.  How He loved them and cared for them!  How He loves us- Blessed are those who have not seen, and yet have believed.  (John 20:29)  In the prayer, He mentions how we do not belong in this world anymore that He did.  We would do well to remember that – especially when times are tough or when this world disappoints us.  How many times do we expect the world’s recognition, admiration, and approval?  How many times do we expect happiness, fulfillment and satisfaction from the people, events and institutions of this world?  This is not where we belong.  We are not home yet.

Another thing I noticed about Jesus’ prayer was that He mentioned the word “Truth” a few times.  So many people in our world today believe that truth is relative – that what is true for you may not be what is true for me.  Relativism is poison!  It has completely corrupted the morals in our society.  Truth is not up for debate.  Truth is not individual.  Truth is not whatever floats your boat.  Truth has a name.  His name is Jesus Christ.

imagesimages

I love the little 3 minute videos over at Young Catholic Minute.  Here is one entitled, “Isn’t Truth Relative.”  I hope you will watch!

I’m also attaching a link to a song by Building 429, Where I Belong.  I have it on my playlist…

“All I know is I’m not home yet.  This is not where I belong. Take this world and give me Jesus…”

About danardoyle

I am a Catholic, working wife and mother. I have three children ages 10, 16 and 23. I am extremely busy, as you can imagine. I aim each and every day to put God first in my life, to teach my children the Faith, to be a supportive spouse, keep the house in order, and do my job outside of the home well, too. That's an impossible task - without Divine intervention! Here, I hope to share my triumphs and struggles with other working moms in the same boat. I will share the tools I have discovered to making it all work - most days!
This entry was posted in scripture, Scripture Reflections and tagged , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

