Easy Eggplant Parmesan

My husband and I have been on a diet, so to speak. We’ve cut out most of the carbs from our diet on the advice of his doctor.  It has been a challenge to prepare enough food for the five members of our family without the use of fillers like rice, pasta, potatoes and bread.  When I grocery shopped this past week, I traveled just the perimeter of the store – meats, dairy, and produce – no cans or pre-packaged stuff.  Wow!  I thought I was doing well this past year with avoiding the GMO’s, bovine growth hormone, “steroid enhanced” chicken, high fructose corn syrup, and buying mostly organic fruits and veggies.  This meats, fresh fruits and veggies thing brings it to a whole new level!

Anyway, I purchased two eggplants.  I am known for making an awesome eggplant Parmesan – complete with Italian breadcrumb fried medallions – high fat, high calorie!  Tonight, I had to make a side to go with our pork roast, mustard greens and avocado salad.  I decided to try to microwave an eggplant to soften it quickly.  I washed it, poked holes in it with a fork and microwaved it on high for 5 minutes.  Then I split it in half and placed it on a baking sheet.  I sprinkled it with some no salt Italian seasoning, spooned some marinara sauce over that, then topped it with Mozzarella, Parmesan and some sliced chives.  I ran it in the oven for 6 minutes at 400 degrees just to melt the cheese.  It was delicious – and a great “filler” food.  I will be making this one again!

Unknown

About danardoyle

I am a Catholic, working wife and mother. I have three children ages 10, 16 and 23. I am extremely busy, as you can imagine. I aim each and every day to put God first in my life, to teach my children the Faith, to be a supportive spouse, keep the house in order, and do my job outside of the home well, too. That's an impossible task - without Divine intervention! Here, I hope to share my triumphs and struggles with other working moms in the same boat. I will share the tools I have discovered to making it all work - most days!
This entry was posted in recipes/food and tagged , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

