To Mantilla or Not to Mantilla? That is the Question – Part 2

imagesOver the weekend, I received a special gift.  I was given a chapel veil that belonged to a very dear member of our family who passed away ten years ago.  She was chosen to be my daughter’s Godmother because she was such a great spiritual role model.  I looked up to her and miss her much.

Today, I “tried it out,” so to speak.  I made a little visit to the adoration chapel, and put on the veil before entering.  To my surprise, the monstrance that held Jesus had been covered, because (apparently) the last adorer had to leave before the next one arrived.  Jesus and I were alone!  I knelt down before Him in a rush of awe that I was in the presence of my King – Just us two!  Then I gently lifted the satin veil covering my Lord.  Again I knelt before Him.   I did feel more humbled in His presence with my head covered.  It felt appropriate and strangely natural.  Maybe there is something to this old time practice!  I’ve been doing some internet research on the theology behind this tradition.

In doing so, I stumbled upon a great video on the topic of wearing a chapel veil in the presence of the Holy Eucharist – beautiful testimonials by a few women – great food for thought!

The Veil

About danardoyle

I am a Catholic, working wife and mother. I have three children ages 10, 16 and 23. I am extremely busy, as you can imagine. I aim each and every day to put God first in my life, to teach my children the Faith, to be a supportive spouse, keep the house in order, and do my job outside of the home well, too. That's an impossible task - without Divine intervention! Here, I hope to share my triumphs and struggles with other working moms in the same boat. I will share the tools I have discovered to making it all work - most days!
This entry was posted in adoration, Catholic, eucharist, Uniquely Catholic and tagged , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

4 Responses to To Mantilla or Not to Mantilla? That is the Question – Part 2

  1. What a beautiful story of you and our Lord. Thanks for sharing! e.

  2. My dear friend in Christ,
    Allow me to share four reasons that you should:
    1. Saint Paul say’s it’s appropriate: 1st Cor. 11:6-7

    2. Even if at first you have a knee-jerk reaction [NOT saying that you will]; that causes to think that hey, look at me; I’m more holy and more pious than you; this is a shot lived response

    3. Doing so makes you immediately aware that you ARE in the presence of our God

    4. It is the right thing to do as it requires humility and obedience.

    Continued Blessings,

    Patrick

Leave a Reply

