Lessons I Learned from My Momma

Unknown-1* Bow your head and close your eyes when you pray. (It’s reverent, and it helps keep distractions to a minimum.)

*Read your bible daily.  If we say that we love God, we will hunger for His Word – to truly get to know Him personally.

*Always put your children first.  (There were times growing up when my mom had literally 7 outfits which she rotated.   Her personal closet was pretty empty compared to ours – Why?  Because she always put us first – bought our spring and fall clothing even when that meant she would get nothing new for herself.)

*We cannot “earn” our salvation, by being “good enough” as we are all unworthy.  Being a follower of Christ, however, means that we must serve as He served.  This is not an option.  Momma is always visiting a sick friend, bringing a dinner to a grieving family, listening to a friend’s woes and giving them encouragement, taking care of her grandkids and kids, buying food for the food pantry at church, washing an elderly person’s clothes – you name it!  She is truly Christ’s love in action!

* Always try to look and act your best, as you don’t get a second chance to make a good first impression.

* Christians of all denominations have more in common than we have differences.  We have the big thing in common – that is OUR LOVE FOR JESUS.  That’s huge!

*The rough times in life can make us bitter, or they can make us better.  Perseverence is one of the virtues that a Christian must have. If we nourish the gift of faith always with scripture and prayer, our faith will help us to weather the bad times and bring us closer to Christ.

I love you with all my heart, Momma!  Happy Mother’s Day!

About danardoyle

I am a Catholic, working wife and mother. I have three children ages 10, 16 and 23. I am extremely busy, as you can imagine. I aim each and every day to put God first in my life, to teach my children the Faith, to be a supportive spouse, keep the house in order, and do my job outside of the home well, too. That's an impossible task - without Divine intervention! Here, I hope to share my triumphs and struggles with other working moms in the same boat. I will share the tools I have discovered to making it all work - most days!
This entry was posted in faith, Prayer and tagged , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

5 Responses to Lessons I Learned from My Momma

  1. Raoul says:

    They are your mom’s life lessons for the rest of us too.
    Thanks God for such a beautiful person.
    Happy Mother’s Day!

  2. What a beautiful tribute to your mom! She is such an inspiration. She probably won’t see this unless you tell her to go look at it! Or email it to her! Happy Mother’s Day Dana!

    • danardoyle says:

      Yeh, I know. She doesn’t read my blog. I’m sure that much of it upsets her. I did print out a copy and brought it to her. She said that it made her day!

      • I’m sure it did make her day. She told me she doesn’t read it because she doesn’t want to be in your business. If one of my kids would write a blog I’d love it!!! I believe through sharing our lives as Christians we may be able to reach someone who doesn’t believe in a way that other efforts hasn’t. Chip and Liz are looking for things for Madisyn to do this summer so if ya’ll do anything you could include her let him know! I’m sure Harriett told you that Kim and Chip are no longer but in case she didn’t tell you, they aren’t. She was just too young. Love you guys!

Leave a Reply

