Keeping Our Eyes on Jesus

I’m thinking of that song that goes, “If I keep my eyes on Jesus, I can walk on water…”  by Audio Adrenaline.  I’m not really sure why, as it is kind of old.

Lately, my peace has been just a bit disturbed by a few things – things that are going on in the Church that I love, and things that are going on in the lives of people who I love.  My prayer list is Sooo long right now.  Is yours long, too?

When feeling disturbed by all these things it is important to keep our focus.  Human beings will inevitably let us down – no one is perfect.  Only God is perfect.  Bad things will happen – sometimes even tragedies.  It’s the nature of the fallen life of this earth – our exile – until we are taken from this world and born into eternal life.

The way to keep peace – to not have our faith shaken – is to keep our eyes on Jesus.  He is steady, unchanging, all love, all justice, perfect in every way, all mercy, PEACE… A great way to do this is through daily scripture reading and prayer.  I have a picture of Jesus in my house, and I actually talk to it (Him) sometimes.  The best way I’ve found to keep my eyes on Jesus is through the frequent reception of Holy Communion (Jesus Himself) and through adoration of the Blessed Sacrament (Jesus’ body).  There in the quiet of the chapel, I gaze at Him in the monstrance, and He gazes at me.  He fills me with His peace and consolation and gives me the courage to go out and face the world again – to step out in joy (most of the time:) – to share the love that He has just poured out on me with others.

images-2It’s o.k. if every now and then you feel like crawling into bed, pulling the covers over your head and shutting the world out!  It’s human.  I feel that way occasionally.  If we draw our strength from Jesus though,  He will help us to “walk on water” – to do the impossible (which might be just getting out of that bed!)

Audio Adrenaline Video

About danardoyle

I am a Catholic, working wife and mother. I have three children ages 10, 16 and 23. I am extremely busy, as you can imagine. I aim each and every day to put God first in my life, to teach my children the Faith, to be a supportive spouse, keep the house in order, and do my job outside of the home well, too. That's an impossible task - without Divine intervention! Here, I hope to share my triumphs and struggles with other working moms in the same boat. I will share the tools I have discovered to making it all work - most days!
This entry was posted in eucharist, faith, Prayer, scripture and tagged , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

One Response to Keeping Our Eyes on Jesus

Leave a Reply

