A Great Day in History

You may think that I am referring to the precious new baby girl born to Prince William and Princess Kate this morning!  That is a very happy event, indeed.  I am very happy for the royal couple, but that was not what I was thinking of when I named this post.  It was on May 2 in 2002 that Pope John Paul II beatified one of my favorite saints, Padre Pio!

Here’s some of the things that I love about him:

He had a profound, deep love for the Eucharist!  Sometimes, he would take hours to say mass, and would reprimand anyone who would look at their watches in the presence of our Lord.

He had a sense of humor!

He didn’t mince words but spoke his mind!

He lived a life of joyful sacrifice – He spent many, many hours in the confessional.  He could read hearts/souls and tell you if there were any sins you forgot or were holding back!

He was obedient – even when he was unjustly stripped of his priestly duties for nine years.

He was humble – He hated having his hometown turned into a marketplace selling “Pio memorabilia” – He toppled the tables just like Jesus did with the merchants in the temple.

He had the stigmata – the wounds or Christ.  He didn’t like people kissing his hands or making a big deal out of them though.  He accepted the cross of suffering for love of Jesus and souls.

He could bilocate – be in two places at once.  I can’t wrap my mind around this – but Wow!

He loved and was devoted to his spiritual children – He still intercedes for his spiritual children on earth!

Love you, Pio!images

 

About danardoyle

I am a Catholic, working wife and mother. I have three children ages 10, 16 and 23. I am extremely busy, as you can imagine. I aim each and every day to put God first in my life, to teach my children the Faith, to be a supportive spouse, keep the house in order, and do my job outside of the home well, too. That's an impossible task - without Divine intervention! Here, I hope to share my triumphs and struggles with other working moms in the same boat. I will share the tools I have discovered to making it all work - most days!
This entry was posted in Catholic, Saints and tagged , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

