Reflections on the Readings for Sunday, April 26, 2015

Readings for Sunday, April 26, 2015

I love today’s readings!  They are so beautiful, uplifting and reassuring!

There is no salvation through anyone else,
nor is there any other name under heaven
given to the human race by which we are to be saved.”

Obviously, we know that Jesus is our salvation.  Here, I was also struck by the power in Jesus’ name!  With that knowledge, we should be using Jesus’ name with the greatest of love, respect and faith!  When we see something remarkable – “Praise you, Jesus.”  When we are afraid – “Comfort me, Jesus.”  When we are happy – “Thank you, Jesus.  When we are on our death bed – “Save me, Jesus!”  Is there any name more powerful and more beautiful?

Beloved:
See what love the Father has bestowed on us
that we may be called the children of God.
Yet so we are.
The reason the world does not know us
is that it did not know him.
Beloved, we are God’s children now;
what we shall be has not yet been revealed.
We do know that when it is revealed we shall be like him,
for we shall see him as he is.

Good to know – the reason that we often feel misunderstood as followers of Christ – different from everyone else, ostracized even – is that the world did not know Him.  He was rejected, humiliated, made fun of – crucified.  When we experience rejection in our world, we need to remember that we are in the very best of company.  We are supposed to be different, counter cultural – an anomaly to most.  We are Christians!

I am the good shepherd,
and I know mine and mine know me,
just as the Father knows me and I know the Father;
and I will lay down my life for the sheep.

Jesus KNOWS us – He LOVES us.  He seeks us out – He reaches out to us again and again and again.  What a great shepherd we have!  I thought for a minute about the phrase, “and mine know me…”  I thought, do I really?  I think I do, but could I know Him better?  The more time spent in His presence – the more time spent with the gospels – the better I can know Him.  The more we know Him, the more hopelessly in love with Him we fall.

There have been so many beautiful, truly inspired artist renditions of the Good Shepherd.  Here are some of my favorites.  Just let the pictures speak to your heart! images-2 Unknown images-3 jesus-lost-sheep images-1 images

 

About danardoyle

I am a Catholic, working wife and mother. I have three children ages 10, 16 and 23. I am extremely busy, as you can imagine. I aim each and every day to put God first in my life, to teach my children the Faith, to be a supportive spouse, keep the house in order, and do my job outside of the home well, too. That's an impossible task - without Divine intervention! Here, I hope to share my triumphs and struggles with other working moms in the same boat. I will share the tools I have discovered to making it all work - most days!
This entry was posted in Prayer and tagged , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

