My Life Story in Houses

Last weekend, we crossed two bridges to visit our hometown for the first time in a few years.  My husband and I grew up in Terrytown, Louisiana.  We wanted to show our 10 year old where we came from, as he was born until after we moved to the town where we now live.  We enjoyed our little stroll down memory lane, but the thing I really gained from the trip was a profound sense of gratitude – for where we have come to where we are presently.  God has provided so faithfully.  May we never take His love and providence for granted!

IMG_0812                                 the Mississippi River Bridge headed toward the Westbank

 

 

IMG_0819

the little one bathroom house where I was born in 1966  (actually I was born in a hospital, but this was our first family home)  My room was the window to the far left.IMG_0832This is a two bedroom, two car garage house where my family moved when I was 7 – same town – several blocks away –  It looked so much warmer when we lived there – with bushes and trees – looks a bit cold now:(

IMG_0845

This was Eric and my first house – a cottage about 10 minutes away from our parents’ homes.  Great memories – where we brought our first two babies home from the hospital:) When we owned it, there was a tree in the front yard, and the grey and white colors were reversed.101_1989The “Cardinal” house where we lived for 12 years after moving to the Northshore – Covington.  A wonderful neighborhood!

101_3117Our latest abode – with an extra room for our youngest.  Blessed!

About danardoyle

I am a Catholic, working wife and mother. I have three children ages 10, 16 and 23. I am extremely busy, as you can imagine. I aim each and every day to put God first in my life, to teach my children the Faith, to be a supportive spouse, keep the house in order, and do my job outside of the home well, too. That's an impossible task - without Divine intervention! Here, I hope to share my triumphs and struggles with other working moms in the same boat. I will share the tools I have discovered to making it all work - most days!
This entry was posted in photo entry and tagged , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

2 Responses to My Life Story in Houses

  1. I really enjoyed this trip down memory lane. Such wonderful memories in the older houses for us!

    • danardoyle says:

      It’s really kind of weird going by old houses – they were so much ingrained in our lives. Fortunately, we feel, however that wherever we are together as a family – that is home. I know you feel the same:)

Leave a Reply

