What’s for Dinner?

UnknownWorking moms and dads must have an arsenal of quick meals in their back pockets to get their families through the busy work & school week. When I’m feeling energetic, on a Saturday, I will cook for the week with a pot on each of the four burners going at once. That didn’t happen this past Saturday, so I’m depending on my 20-30 minute repertoire to get me through. Here’s what’s on the menu at my house this week:

Monday – Chinese Stir Fry using Pre Cooked Chicken strips, Jasmine rice and “Bag- O- Salad”

Tuesday – Dirty rice with Autin’s (no MSG) mix, early peas and pistolettes

Wednesday – Indian Butter Chicken – Using Target Archer Farm’s Brand, baked                                     potatoes, steam in bag green beans

Thursday – EZ Chili, pre-washed Spinach Salad, French bread

Friday – Shrimp fajitas, organic corn and black beans

My Chinese Stir Fry Recipe:

Brown meat in couple tablespoons of safflower oil- chicken, pork, or shrimp, add minced garlic (from jar) to taste, throw in vegetables of choice, along with some water chestnuts or bamboo shoots, add one carton (about 1  1/2 cups organic chicken broth, 1/8 tsp of cayenne pepper, soy sauce to taste – I probably use about 1/3 cup of Tamarin.  Lastly, I put about 1/2 cold water in a cup and mix in two tablespoons of organic corn starch.  I pour that into the soy sauce liquid in the wok until the consistency is what I want.   Done.

My EX Chili recipe:

Wilt some pre-cut seasoning mix (onion, bell pepper) in a couple of tablespoons of oil, add about 3/4 pound of ground meat – brown it.  Add a couple of teaspoons of minced garlic from a jar. Dump in 5 cans of beans – black, pinto, 2 dark red kidney & garbanzo, a can/small carton of tomato sauce & a can of mild Rotel tomatoes with green chilies.  I use lots of chili powder – probably 3-4 tablespoons.  Simmer.

My Fajita recipe:

Wilt long sliced green bell pepper and onion in a couple of tablespoons of oil.  Add meat and brown it.  Add a couple of teaspoons of minced garlic, sprinkle generously with chili powder and about a tsp of cilantro (optional).  Squirt with a generous amount of lime juice.

*Some people tease me for being an organic freak.  That is not true.  I cannot afford to purchase everything, “organic,” however I do try to buy certain foods in this form.  Because of articles I’ve read about genetically modified food and its possible effects on human beings, I do purchase corn and soy products as organics.  It is also recommended that you buy grapes, apples and certain fruits and veggies organic – basically those for which farmers use a lot of pesticides and for which we eat the skins.

I also purchase chicken and turkey that has not been given steroids.  No rubbery, mega chicken breasts in this house!  With our children going through puberty earlier these days, I also purchase organic milk and dairy products, so that I’m not feeding my kids added hormones.

Supposedly, the acid in tomato sauce causes chemicals that tin cans are lined with to leach into the sauce.  Recently, I’ve been able to find tomato sauce in cartons.  This is also cool because if I don’t use the whole amount, I can refrigerate it.

 

About danardoyle

I am a Catholic, working wife and mother. I have three children ages 10, 16 and 23. I am extremely busy, as you can imagine. I aim each and every day to put God first in my life, to teach my children the Faith, to be a supportive spouse, keep the house in order, and do my job outside of the home well, too. That's an impossible task - without Divine intervention! Here, I hope to share my triumphs and struggles with other working moms in the same boat. I will share the tools I have discovered to making it all work - most days!
This entry was posted in Recipes and tagged , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

