What’s the Story Morning Glory?

IMG_0497When leaving work today, a splatter of hot pink caught my eye.  It was on a statue of the Blessed Virgin Mary on our parish campus.  I thought, “Now, if they (whoever they is) were going to paint the white statue, why in the world would they choose hot pink?”  How interesting!  I had to move in for a closer look.  As I neared the statue I could see the pink veil moving ever so slightly in the breeze.  “Whew!”  I thought.  It’s not permanent.

It appears as though someone put a pink scarf/shawl around Mary’s shoulders.  Strangely the breeze has not blown it off.  Who put it there?  Why did they put it there?

I suspect that it may have been our parish “angel.”  She is a sweet, middle-aged woman who rides her bicycle up and down the streets of this old town all day long, often smiling from ear to ear.  She also stops to talk to many of the statues we have in the church and dotting the campus.  She prays;  she converses; she sings to them.

I’ve discovered that despite her difficulties, she has been blessed with a joy and a childlike faith that no one can take away from her!  Who knows?  Maybe she really does see the angels and saints.  Maybe she really does talk with the Blessed Virgin Mary.

I believe that it may have been this woman who wrapped “Mary” in a shawl either to further beautify her or to keep her warm – either way a heartfelt gesture!  May Our Lady bless our parish angel, and grant us all a childlike faith in her Son, Jesus Christ!

About danardoyle

I am a Catholic, working wife and mother. I have three children ages 10, 16 and 23. I am extremely busy, as you can imagine. I aim each and every day to put God first in my life, to teach my children the Faith, to be a supportive spouse, keep the house in order, and do my job outside of the home well, too. That's an impossible task - without Divine intervention! Here, I hope to share my triumphs and struggles with other working moms in the same boat. I will share the tools I have discovered to making it all work - most days!
This entry was posted in angels, Catholic, faith, Faith & Children, gardening/nature, I Saw God Today, photo entry and tagged , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

4 Responses to What’s the Story Morning Glory?

  1. Tena Marie says:

    The beauty is that people are noticing and it’s causing them pause and think…if only for a few seconds.

  2. What a beautiful story, and what a BEAUTIFUL SOUL!

    A saint who likes HOT Pink no less.

    Everyone of us is a Creation of God for reasons He alone fully knows. That He continues to use just ordinary folks for extraordinary task telss us volumes of how much He Loves us.

    Thank you,

    Patrick

Leave a Reply

