Regarding Anxiety

UnknownMy most popular post  (other than my scripture reflections) is the one I posted a couple of years ago on “Anxiety.”  I believe this to be a sign of the times in which we live.  Our lives are so hectic and our futures uncertain – given current world events.  We live in troubled times to be sure, but we can keep our peace in spite of it all.  The Lord wants us to be reassured that we do not travel this road – as twisty and marred with potholes as it may be – alone.  God also created each of us with different character traits – different personalities.  For some, it is easier to overcome anxiety than it is for others.  Fear, depression and nervousness can be difficult crosses to carry…however, when we unite our struggles and sufferings to the cross of Christ, we can overcome through Him!

Here is some food for thought:

“There are moments when all anxiety and stated toil are becalmed in the infinite leisure and repose of nature.”  Henry David Thoreau

“Happiness is not a brilliant climax to years of grim struggle and anxiety. It is a long succession of little decisions simply to be happy in the moment.
J. Donald Walters

“Anxiety does not empty tomorrow of its sorrows, but only empties today of its strength.
Charles Spurgeon

“Anxiety’s like a rocking chair. It gives you something to do, but it doesn’t get you very far.”
― Jodi Picoult

“The more you pray, the less you’ll panic. The more you worship, the less you worry. You’ll feel more patient and less pressured.”
― Pastor Rick Warren

Here’s some wisdom from the Word of God: (All quotes taken from the New Revised Standard Catholic Edition)

Even though I walk through the darkest valley,  I fear no evil;  for you are with me;
your rod and your staff—they comfort me. Psalm 23:4

Cast your burden on the Lord, and he will sustain you; he will never permit
the righteous to be moved. Psalm 55:22

Trust in the Lord with all your heart,
and do not rely on your own insight. Proverbs 3:5  (My personal favorite!)

“Therefore I tell you, do not worry about your life, what you will eat or what you will drink, or about your body, what you will wear. Is not life more than food, and the body more than clothing?  Look at the birds of the air; they neither sow nor reap nor gather into barns, and yet your heavenly Father feeds them. Are you not of more value than they?  And can any of you by worrying add a single hour to your span of life?  And why do you worry about clothing? Consider the lilies of the field, how they grow; they neither toil nor spin,  yet I tell you, even Solomon in all his glory was not clothed like one of these.  But if God so clothes the grass of the field, which is alive today and tomorrow is thrown into the oven, will he not much more clothe you—you of little faith?  Therefore do not worry, saying, ‘What will we eat?’ or ‘What will we drink?’ or ‘What will we wear?’  For it is the Gentiles who strive for all these things; and indeed your heavenly Father knows that you need all these things.  But strive first for the kingdom of God and his righteousness, and all these things will be given to you as well.  “So do not worry about tomorrow, for tomorrow will bring worries of its own. Today’s trouble is enough for today.   Matthew 6:25-34

Peace I leave with you; my peace I give to you. I do not give to you as the world gives. Do not let your hearts be troubled, and do not let them be afraid.  John 14:27

 Keep your lives free from the love of money, and be content with what you have; for he has said, “I will never leave you or forsake you.”  So we can say with confidence, “The Lord is my helper;  I will not be afraid.  What can anyone do to me?”  Hebrews 13:5-6

Do not worry about anything, but in everything by prayer and supplication with thanksgiving let your requests be made known to God.  And the peace of God, which surpasses all understanding, will guard your hearts and your minds in Christ Jesus.  Philippians 4:6-7

Humble yourselves therefore under the mighty hand of God, so that he may exalt you in due time.  Cast all your anxiety on him, because he cares for you.  1 Peter 5:6-7

______________________________________________________________

Beating yourself up over feelings of anxiousness surely does not help to conquer them.  Being that God addressed this topic MANY times in the Bible tells me that it is something that humans have had to deal with since the creation of mankind.

During a time of great stress, here are some things that help me:

*spending time in silence before Jesus in the Blessed Sacrament

*kneeling before a crucifix and envisioning myself giving my stresses and worries to Jesus (sometimes I have to do this multiple times before I can truly let go!)

*saying simple, repetitive prayers throughout the day – Something like, “Come Lord    Jesus”  while breathing in and out slowly

*meditating on one of the above scripture verses

*putting some of the short encouraging scripture verses on “post it” notes and sticking them in lots of places I frequent as a visual reminder

*taking a nature walk and looking for God’s touches everywhere – gives me a feeling that He is the Master Creator and in fact – in control of EVERYTHING

*listening to uplifting praise and worship music and really singing along

*praying the Infant Jesus Nine Hour Novena every hour on the hour.  You say it for 9 hours instead of 9 days. I actually set a timer.  By the time the 6th or 7th hour comes around, I inevitably feel more peaceful.  (I used this a lot when my husband was unemployed – talk about anxiety!)

If anxiety is ongoing and seemingly insurmountable, it may not be a lack of faith that you are experiencing. It may actually be a chemical imbalance in the brain.  Your physician could assist in making that determination and in getting you the additional support you may need.  There is never any shame in asking for help!

 

About danardoyle

I am a Catholic, working wife and mother. I have three children ages 10, 16 and 23. I am extremely busy, as you can imagine. I aim each and every day to put God first in my life, to teach my children the Faith, to be a supportive spouse, keep the house in order, and do my job outside of the home well, too. That's an impossible task - without Divine intervention! Here, I hope to share my triumphs and struggles with other working moms in the same boat. I will share the tools I have discovered to making it all work - most days!
This entry was posted in Informational, Inspirational, Prayer and tagged , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

