Feast of the Holy Name of Jesus

UnknownToday is the feast of the beautiful, holy, powerful name of Jesus. These are some of my favorite scripture verses on the Holy Name of Jesus:

 

“The Almighty has done great things for me, Holy is His name.” Luke 1:49

“Whatever you ask for in my name I will do, so that the Father may be glorified in the Son. If you ask for anything in my name, I will do it.
” John 14:13

“For of all the names in the world given to men, this is the only one by which we can be saved.”
 Acts 4:12

“I order you in the name of Jesus Christ to leave that woman.’ The spirit went out of her then and there.
” Acts 16:18

“But God raised him high and gave him the name which is above all other names so that all beings in the heavens, on earth and in the underworld, should bend the knee at the name of Jesus and that every tongue should acclaim Jesus Christ as Lord, to the glory of God the Father.
” Philippians 2:9-10

 

Here are some quotes on the Most Holy Name of Jesus:

 

“The Name of Jesus is Light, and Food, and Medicine. It is Light, when it is preached to us; it is Food, when we think upon it; it is the Medicine that soothes our pains when we invoke it.”  St. Bernard of Clairvaux

“Hope is a gift of the Holy Spirit and for this reason Paul was to say that it never disappoints. It also has a name; and “this name is Jesus”. It is impossible to say one hopes in life unless one hopes in Jesus.”

Pope Francis from his homily at Domus Sanctae Martae 9th September 2013

 

A Prayer to Honor the Holy Name of Jesus:

 O Lord Jesus Christ, You have said, “Ask and ye shall receive; seek, and ye shall find; knock, and it shall be opened unto you:” mercifully attend to our supplications, and grant us the grace of Your divine charity, that we may ever love You with our whole heart, and with all our words and deeds, and may never cease to praise You. Give us, O Lord, a deep love of Your Holy Name, for You never fail to govern those whom You solidly establish in Your love. You, Who live and reign forever and ever. Amen.

 

Let’s all make it a New Year’s resolution to always use the Lord’s name with the greatest respect and love – AND not to tolerate the abuse of the Lord’s name in our presence or in our entertainment. If we who love Jesus won’t stand up for His Holy Name, who will?

About danardoyle

I am a Catholic, working wife and mother. I have three children ages 10, 16 and 23. I am extremely busy, as you can imagine. I aim each and every day to put God first in my life, to teach my children the Faith, to be a supportive spouse, keep the house in order, and do my job outside of the home well, too. That's an impossible task - without Divine intervention! Here, I hope to share my triumphs and struggles with other working moms in the same boat. I will share the tools I have discovered to making it all work - most days!
This entry was posted in Informational, Prayer and tagged , . Bookmark the permalink.

3 Responses to Feast of the Holy Name of Jesus

  1. Thank you and continued Blessings,

    Patrick

  2. Thank you so very much….

    One on my favorites is John 17:18; repeated again in John 20::21
    [18] As thou hast sent me into the world, I also have sent them into the world & [21] He said therefore to them again: Peace be to you. As the Father hath sent me, I also send you”

    The name of Jesus is so powerful, it need not be specifically mentioned to have lasting effect on the entire world. AMEN!

    Patrick.

Leave a Reply

