On a Personal Note

Just thought I’d share some of myself  –  Got the idea from belting out a song on the radio on my way home:  “I don’t want the world to see me, cause I don’t think that they’d understand.  When everything’s made to be broken.  I just want you to know who I am.”  Goo Goo Dolls

Sooooo..

I love Jesus!  but that’s not a secret, right?

All of my life, I wanted more than anything to be a momma.  My dream has come true in three wonderful ways!

I’m scared of heights, of enclosed spaces and of getting old.

I need a certain amount of alone time – I relish silence.

I can talk to a group of 1,000 with ease, but mingling at a party is so scary for me.

I also love music.  My tastes are quite varied – Some favorites:  Mozart, violin, piano, pop, rock, even some hip hop (if clean:), oldies, newbies, eighties, nineties, sixties…

Lyrics that really speak to me:  “Carry On My Wayward Son.  They’ll be peace when you are done.  Lay your weary head to rest.  Don’t You Cry no more.”   Kansas      “We don’t need no education.  We don’t need no thought control…”  Pink Floyd

Also – the song I quoted at the beginning.

Possession by Sarah McLachlan, Wild Horses – the Sunday’s version, Because of You, Kelly Clarkson, almost anything 1D (I know!!)

Movies that I could watch again and again:  Untamed Heart with Marissa Tomei and Christian Slater, Benny and Joon with Mary Stuart Masterson and Johnny Depp, Heroes with Sally Field and Henry Winkler, Elf, Madea’s Witness Protection Program, the Breakfast Club (still speaks to my inner teen), Steal Magnolias, the Notebook, Rainman, Pretty in Pink and Lean On Me with Morgan Freeman as an inner city school principal – truly inspiring!   In a whole ‘nother genre, I love the Padre Pio movie and John Paul II starring Jon Voigt.

Television – there’s not much that interests me, however, I do sometimes indulge in Downton Abbey, 19 Kids and Counting, the Little Couple and the Big Bang Theory.

I enjoy reruns of All in the Family & House.  I’ve seen every episode of the Waltons and Brady Bunch multiple times.  I loved Eight is Enough in the 70’s.  Is that bad?

My favorite day outing would be a walk in the woods – exploring a trail that I’ve not hiked previously – even better if it ends in a waterfall or a pretty view.

My favorite date night would be going to eat Mexican then taking a stroll along the lakefront.

I love going to weddings where my hubby and I can dance.  He says that I have rhythm???  I just know that dancing feels good.

I don’t mind the summer heat, but don’t tolerate the winter’s cold well.  I was born a Southern girl for a reason, I s’pose.  This is why I almost never vacation in winter.  I can’t relax when I’m cold.

I sleep a lot.  In fact, my favorite place (other than the beach or mountain) is my bed.  I am so thankful for clean sheets, a comfy mattress, blankets and fluffy pillows.  I love to sleep!

I love looking for the beautiful everywhere I go – It makes me happy!   As you already know, I love capturing the beauty of the world in photos.  Beautiful things remind me of God’s goodness and omnipresence.

I fear becoming depressed and not being able to get out of it.  Thank God, that fear has not materialized.  I have difficulty being “up/joyful” on days when it is gloomy out.  I have to stay busy in order to cope on those days.

I’m a really good skater.  I used to want to be a professional ice skater when I was a little girl watching the winter olympics.  I practiced day and night on my roller skates, and even took ice skating lessons when I was in college.  I can even do a few tricks.  I love the speed and the feel of the “wind” in my hair when I’m skating!

I love the Latin Mass, though I don’t think it’s the only way – if you know what I mean.

I love visiting old churches when I vacation.

I love birds and butterflies, plants of all kinds and flowers galore!

I’m very interested in geneology and in finding out about my ancestors.  I feel a connection to them that crosses the miles and generations.

I like writing and reading poetry.  I find words and playing with language fascinating.

I just did something I would have once thought myself incapable of doing – teaching middle school science.  I was not “the bomb” at it, but did better than I thought I could.  I really don’t think that I could do math above the 5th grade level, but who knows!?!

I think I’m finally over needing to give birth to another human being.  I do love to live vicariously through others with infants, however, and secretly long to hold a baby, though I almost never ask.

I would like to get over my fear of flying so that I could travel to places like Alsace Lorraine where some of my ancestors are from.  I think that Ireland would be fascinating.  I would like to see the Statue of Liberty just once.  I would like to travel to obscure places – like the middle of Wisconsin or Idaho.  I would also love to see the Rockies.

When I get to heaven, I hope that I will be able to play an instrument.  I have always wanted to play one, but it never came naturally to me.  I want to be able to entertain myself with the piano of violin.

The soothing sounds of a piano or violin make me swoon!

Even if I could afford a mansion or a fancy car, I prefer to live simply.  I would be happiest ( I think) in a beachside cottage or cabin in the mountains.    I love cleaning out and getting rid of things.  It’s freeing.

My favorite colors are shades of green and blue – the colors of the sea, sky and trees.

My favorite fragrances are lavender, mint and cheap Brut cologne!

I love to go barefoot in the grass.

I hate to wear my glasses, as they have always made me self conscious.  If you see me in glasses, I’m either exhausted or sporting a headache.

The wrinkles beside my eyes don’t bother me, but the creases above my lips and aging neckline do.  I hope that if and when I get to heaven, I get to be frozen in time at about 30!

I’m not a good phone person.  In fact, I will put off making a phone call for as long as I can.  Silent moments on the phone cause me anxiety.  I’m ashamed to say, I’d rather text, talk in person or even write an old fashioned letter.

I am so led by my heart.  I’m the type to jump in to something and clean up the mess later if necessary.

I like everything to be in order, but am not disciplined at keeping it so.  Everything must be tidy – at least on the outside.  If you look in my closet, it’s like taking my pulse.  If it looks a mess, then I’m probably a “mess” at the moment.  If it looks neat, then I’ve got it together – at least for a time.

I’ve always wanted to be a runner, but I can’t run – for long anyway – maybe in heaven, huh?

I’m a good pray-er.  If you ask for my prayers, you’re going to get them!  In fact, often, I can’t get a prayer request out of my mind.  I wanted to be a counselor when in college, but my lack of ability to “let it go” got in my way – turns out I was much better suited to teaching.

I have truly been blessed to spend my life doing what I love – being a momma, teaching, writing, skating:)

I’ve probably shared more than enough today…LONGEST POST EVER!

 

 

About danardoyle

I am a Catholic, working wife and mother. I have three children ages 10, 16 and 23. I am extremely busy, as you can imagine. I aim each and every day to put God first in my life, to teach my children the Faith, to be a supportive spouse, keep the house in order, and do my job outside of the home well, too. That's an impossible task - without Divine intervention! Here, I hope to share my triumphs and struggles with other working moms in the same boat. I will share the tools I have discovered to making it all work - most days!
This entry was posted in Prayer and tagged , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

3 Responses to On a Personal Note

  1. Thank you,

    What you shared explained why I admire you so very much.

    GREAT Ministry, keep up the GREAT work!

    God Bless you and yours. ,

    Patrick

  2. Cindy says:

    Once again I just want to thank you again for being such a wonderful prayer partner to me you are such an inspiration and a awesome friend. God knew what he was doing when he gave me you as a prayer partner you have inspired me in so many ways God bless you and keep your family safe and healthy all the days of your life see u soon

    • danardoyle says:

      Cindy, I feel the same about you! I’ve enjoyed the pictures you’ve posted of your family as of late! I hope your holiday was as beautiful and relaxing as it looked!!

Leave a Reply

