Reflection on Today’s Readings, Sunday, December 21, 2014

Readings for Sunday, December 21, 2014

“Here I am living in a house of cedar,
while the ark of God dwells in a tent!”
Nathan answered the king,
“Go, do whatever you have in mind,
for the LORD is with you.”
But that night the LORD spoke to Nathan and said:
“Go, tell my servant David, ‘Thus says the LORD:
Should you build me a house to dwell in?’

images-1In meditating upon the first reading, I am reminded that the Lord dwells within me.  What kind of house have I provided for my King?  Is it a dwelling of strong cedar or of fragile cloth?  I’d have to admit that it is likely something in-between.    That gives me something to work on – especially in these few remaining days before Christmas.  Thankfully, my shopping is done, and the tree is decorated.  For all of the times that I’ve failed to obediently protect my prayer time with the Lord – for all of those times that I’ve not made the effort to get myself to confession – for all of the times that I’ve filled my mind with useless entertainment – I will spend these final hours in readying my heart to receive the Christ Child this Christmas.  Oh what Joy He will bring – respite from our burdens, from the stories of violence, from our fears of war…and so much more!

How shall I ready myself?  However shall I pray?   I will use the Blessed Mother as my guide.  She was a human momma like myself (though sinless).  She had complete confidence in God.  She surrendered herself unabashedly and trustingly to be used by Him to the fullest degree possible:

“Behold, I am the handmaid of the Lord.
May it be done to me according to your word.”

Unknown

Through her was born our Redemption.  I will meditate up on the annunciation, and the birth of the baby Jesus.  Next to His manger, (in my mind) I will kneel and admire His beauty.  I will sing praises to Him along with the shepherds and wise men.  When they present their gifts to Jesus, I will offer Him my heart, imperfect and often fickle.

I love you above all else, Jesus.  I give you all that I have and all that I am.  Please use me to do Your Will and Yours alone.  Happy Birthday to my Everything!

Unknown-1

 

About danardoyle

I am a Catholic, working wife and mother. I have three children ages 10, 16 and 23. I am extremely busy, as you can imagine. I aim each and every day to put God first in my life, to teach my children the Faith, to be a supportive spouse, keep the house in order, and do my job outside of the home well, too. That's an impossible task - without Divine intervention! Here, I hope to share my triumphs and struggles with other working moms in the same boat. I will share the tools I have discovered to making it all work - most days!
This entry was posted in advent, Christmas, Prayer, Scripture Reflections and tagged , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

