Reflections on the Readings of the Day: Sunday, November 16, 2014

Readings for Sunday, November 16

imagesThe first reading reminds me of my role as wife to my wonderful husband.  I have been so blessed with a man who always puts my well-being and happiness before his own.  I try to do the same for him. Regretfully,  I believe I fall short quite often.  I am blessed to be married to my best friend.  We have a love triangle!  Yes!  A triangle – God at the top of the triangle and Eric and I in the bottom two corners.  We consult God on everything in our marriage.  We both love God more than we love each other.  I believe that is key to our longevity – that and the fact that we believe our marriage to be a sacrament.  You cannot undo a sacrament.  If you have been baptized, can you be unbaptized?  No.  If you receive your first Holy Communion, can you take it back?  No.  Marriage is the same way.  With God at the helm of our ship, it is sure to stay afloat, no matter how choppy the waters may become.

In the second reading, we are reminded to remain alert for the Lord’s second coming.  I have read “The Great Battle Has Begun” and Volumes 5 & 8 from Anne the Lay Apostle- both concerning messages/prophecies about Jesus’ return.  I keep them close by and refer to them often.  Do I believe that Jesus will return soon?  Well, ever since Jesus ascended into heaven, people have believed that He would return in their lifetime.  We know from scripture that only the Father (God) knows the precise day and hour.  The signs of the times are pretty compelling however.  It does not lead me to panic.  I find that I do have to stay faithful to my prayer time to stay connected to Jesus – to keep peace.  The Lord does not want us to fear His return.  He will be coming back to make things right and good again.  Things will surely get worse though before they get better.  Jesus wants us to repent – to change our lives – to love Him in return – before it is too late.

Lastly, the gospel tells the parable of the talents.  The essential lesson is to be prudent not to waste what the Lord has given us – in terms of time, talent and treasure.  If He has blessed and entrusted us with much, much will be expected of us.  We need to use all of our resources – most especially our personal gifts and talents –  to show God’s love to our weary, faith – deprived world.  We should make it a practice to ask the Father often if we are doing all that He wants us to do.  You never know, He just may respond!  Asking that question is how I wound up teaching Religion instead of English and Science.  It is how I got started writing about my faith.

Do not be afraid!  If He brings you to it, He will see you through it!  When you follow God’s Will, you will always be your best, most fulfilled self.  More importantly, you may wind up drawing others closer to Jesus, hastening the coming of the Kingdom here on earth!

 

About danardoyle

I am a Catholic, working wife and mother. I have three children ages 10, 16 and 23. I am extremely busy, as you can imagine. I aim each and every day to put God first in my life, to teach my children the Faith, to be a supportive spouse, keep the house in order, and do my job outside of the home well, too. That's an impossible task - without Divine intervention! Here, I hope to share my triumphs and struggles with other working moms in the same boat. I will share the tools I have discovered to making it all work - most days!
This entry was posted in Prayer, scripture, Scripture Reflections and tagged , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

