Reflections on Today’s Readings, Sunday, October 12, 2014

Readings for Sunday, October, 12, 2014

It’s funny that I’ve been repeating St. Paul’s word to the Philippians to myself all week.  “I can do all things in Him who strengthens me.”  I’ve also been reminded of words from John’s gospel,   ” I am the vine.  You are the branches.  Apart from Me, you can do nothing.”  I am living those words moment to moment, day to day.  I rely on His strength completely.  I do miss my frequent visits to the chapel with my new busier schedule.  As I walk past, onto my next class, I remind myself that Christ lives within me, and that He is with me all of the time, even when I cannot seat myself in His holy presence.

I thought of all of my students during the Psalm at mass today, as we recently committed Psalm 23 to memory.  I wanted them to know these words and to be able to cling to them when times get rough.  There is the most adorable video on GodTube that I will post.  It inspired us to memorize the Psalm.  If three year old twins can do it, so can we!  ( I love their accents!)

British Twins Recite Psalm 23

The gospel today speaks of a great wedding feast.  The great wedding feast refers to the time when Christ will come again to judge the living and the dead – when a new heavens and new earth will be created – When we will be invited to live in heavenly communion with the Lord for all eternity.  We are all invited!  God loves all of His children.  In the parable, the man was told to go out into the streets and invite everyone – poor, rich, homeless, sinner, etc.  He showed no prejudice.

I was disappointed that when the gospel was proclaimed where I went to church this morning, the shortened reading was read, and the very important ending was excluded.  In the end, the gospel tells us that there is a man who shows up without a proper wedding garment.  On the surface, it seems to be about clothing, and seemed rather severe as such.  I had a discussion with someone this morning who was convinced that the Lord was speaking to those who come to church on a regular basis in shorts and flip flops!  While I agreed with him that this was not generally appropriate for church (unless shorts and flip flops are truly the best clothes one owns), I thought that the meaning was much deeper.  This “ill-dressed” man represents those called who want the benefits of the banquet, but have no intention of conversion/repentance. 

The Lord calls everyone to come to Him, to be with Him for all eternity.  He sent His Son to pave the way – to Redeem us.  We must repent of our sins, however, and be willing to change our ways in order to be admitted to the “Great Heavenly Feast.”  I’m not sure that the world today understands or accepts that.  Let us all pray and offer sacrifices for massive conversions all over the planet!

 

About danardoyle

I am a Catholic, working wife and mother. I have three children ages 10, 16 and 23. I am extremely busy, as you can imagine. I aim each and every day to put God first in my life, to teach my children the Faith, to be a supportive spouse, keep the house in order, and do my job outside of the home well, too. That's an impossible task - without Divine intervention! Here, I hope to share my triumphs and struggles with other working moms in the same boat. I will share the tools I have discovered to making it all work - most days!
This entry was posted in Prayer, scripture, Scripture Reflections and tagged , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

