Guess Who?

My real name was Eusebius Hieronymous Sophronius.  (That’s a real mouthful!)

I was born in 331 and baptized by a pope.

I was born into a wealthy, Christian family, but educated by pagans.

My “superior” education caused me to lose my love of the Lord for a time.

I spent many years living in a large cave near Jesus’ birthplace where I studied scripture and did penance for having gone astray.

My bluntness and sarcasm earned me many enemies.

I am “famous” for translating the bible into Latin – known as the “Vulgate.”

My feast day is September 30th.

I am St. Jerome!

Unknown-1

Here are a few quotes from me:

“A friend is long sought, hardly found, and with difficulty kept.”

“Ignorance of Scripture is ignorance of Christ.”

“Haste is of the Devil.”

“The face is the mirror of the mind, and eyes without speaking confess the secrets of the heart.”

 

 

 

About danardoyle

I am a Catholic, working wife and mother. I have three children ages 10, 16 and 23. I am extremely busy, as you can imagine. I aim each and every day to put God first in my life, to teach my children the Faith, to be a supportive spouse, keep the house in order, and do my job outside of the home well, too. That's an impossible task - without Divine intervention! Here, I hope to share my triumphs and struggles with other working moms in the same boat. I will share the tools I have discovered to making it all work - most days!
This entry was posted in Catholic, Informational, Saints and tagged , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

One Response to Guess Who?

  1. I knew Jerome; but I didn’t Know about Jerome!

    THANKS, Patrickworking4christtwo Date: Tue, 30 Sep 2014 00:51:12 +0000 To: patrickmiron66@hotmail.com

Leave a Reply

