Book Recommendation

UnknownOn Labor Day, I was stuck in the great parking lot that was the road between the Florida beaches and New Orleans –  thousands headed home after the three-day weekend – my family included!  I was beginning to get frustrated when I remembered that I had tucked a book under my seat.  A friend of mine had recommended it to me, so I ordered it specifically for the Labor Day weekend.  I thought I’d want to read on the beach, but it turned out that the wave action was so exciting that I thoroughly enjoyed watching my husband and kids ride the waves again and again.  (I even joined in a few times!)

Anyway, I began reading Miracle Man by Judy Landrieu Klein in the car when it was still daylight.  I was quickly drawn in by the story, and literally could not put it down.  When the sun set, I read with a flashlight!  When we arrived home, I unloaded our laundry from the suitcases into the washing machine, and climbed in bed to finish.  I knew that I couldn’t sleep until I had completed it.

It is the story of a very difficult time in Judy’s life – the illness and eventual death of her beloved husband, Bernie.  Don’t be fooled by the subject matter, however.  The book is not a downer.  I found Judy’s writing to be highly relatable and very inspiring.  She shares the many little miracles that happened throughout Bernie’s illness, and the important spiritual lessons she learned along the way.  The book is a must read!

Please visit Judy’s website:  memorareministries.com for more information.

About danardoyle

I am a Catholic, working wife and mother. I have three children ages 10, 16 and 23. I am extremely busy, as you can imagine. I aim each and every day to put God first in my life, to teach my children the Faith, to be a supportive spouse, keep the house in order, and do my job outside of the home well, too. That's an impossible task - without Divine intervention! Here, I hope to share my triumphs and struggles with other working moms in the same boat. I will share the tools I have discovered to making it all work - most days!
This entry was posted in Book Review, Prayer and tagged , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

