Movie Must Sees

I watched two movies this weekend that were outstanding.  I rarely make such a statement.  It seems decades ago that I was a movie buff.  I would hit the video store every Friday night to rent the new releases. Nowadays, there doesn’t seem to be much out there that interests me.  Occasionally, there will be something, but most of what is out there is morally offensive on multiple levels – much like what is on TV.

“God is Not Dead” is a story about a college freshman (a Christian) who comes up against an atheist professor. This philosophy teacher tries to get his students to deny God’s existence, so that “they don’t have to waste class time debating that (foolishness).”  Josh’s parents and girlfriend advise him to simply go along with the teacher’s demands so that the professor will not ruin his college career or his promising future.  After thinking about Christ’s great sacrifice for him, Josh doesn’t want to let Jesus down, so he decides to stand up to his professor. He studies night and day seeking information that will prove God’s existence.  The movie addresses atheism, agnosticism, religious persecution, injustice, standing up for what you believe, why God allows suffering, Divine Providence, God’s direction in our lives and so much more.  I highly recommend this movie for preteens, teens and adults of all ages.  It is truly inspiring!

The second movie is called “For Greater Glory.”  Given the state of our world, it is a must see for all Christians.  It will leave you feeling charged, and more determined to do whatever is necessary to protect our religious freedom.  It is the story of the Chriteros who fought the oppressive Mexican Government in the 1920’s.  The religious freedom of the Catholics in Mexico during that time was being trampled.  Priests, bishops and lay Catholics were hung, tortured, and shot for practicing their faith.  Churches were closed, destroyed, and worship was forbidden.  The Christeros rose up to fight the government.  They would not compromise.  Many lost their lives, but ultimately, religious freedom was restored.

This movie is a difficult one to watch because of the violence.  I do not recommend it for children.  Older teens and adults, however, need to see this. The determination and unwavering faith of the Mexican martyrs is incredibly inspiring.

Is anyone willing to die for their faith anymore? There are people who would die rather than denounce their faith.  Most regretfully and horrifically, it is happening  in the Middle East right now.  We must show solidarity with those fighting religious persecution.  I pray that it will never come to United States soil, but we, as a country have done so much (and continue to do so much) to offend our Lord.  As a result, He may withhold His protection from us.

My advice – Pray for conversion of souls in great numbers!  Pray for the courage to defend our faith!  Pray for the protection of religious freedom!    Watch these two great movies and be inspired to do so!

Unknown-1 Unknown-2

About danardoyle

I am a Catholic, working wife and mother. I have three children ages 10, 16 and 23. I am extremely busy, as you can imagine. I aim each and every day to put God first in my life, to teach my children the Faith, to be a supportive spouse, keep the house in order, and do my job outside of the home well, too. That's an impossible task - without Divine intervention! Here, I hope to share my triumphs and struggles with other working moms in the same boat. I will share the tools I have discovered to making it all work - most days!
This entry was posted in Informational, Inspirational, Prayer and tagged , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

2 Responses to Movie Must Sees

  1. Sue Elvis says:

    Dana,

    The theme of ‘God is Not Dead’ sounds very similar to a Catholic spiritual talk I recently heard about defeating atheism. Thank you so much for sharing the two movies. Now I really want to watch them!

Leave a Reply

