Changing a Dreaded Chore into a Cheerful Challenge

Yesterday morning, I woke up early, put on my combat apparel, and readied myself for battle – at the local big chain grocery store ( to remain unnamed).  I dread this task – most especially at this particular store.  I love shopping at certain upscale markets for a few specialty items, however, I can’t purchase all of my groceries at these places, because I need to be frugal – make that paycheck Ssttrrreeetttccchhhh!  You know what I mean???

Since I’m back at work on Monday – Fridays, I’ve got to shop with the rest of the world on Saturday.  Ugh!  I leave early so that by the time the store starts getting crowded, I’m on my way out.

Yesterday, I decided that I was going to make the grocery shopping experience a joyful one for myself and for as many people as I could.  I challenged myself to smile and to say, “Good morning,” to every person in that store with whom I made eye contact.  I also strolled through the store as though I had all of the time in the world, not letting the inevitable shopping cart traffic jam imagesaffect my blood pressure.  I was surprised by the number of smiles and pleasant greetings I got in return.  I would say that I got about a 90% return on my investment.  That’s pretty darn good if I must say so myself!

I left the grocery store with a spring in my step and a song in my heart!  I hope that I helped fellow shoppers to do the same!

 

About danardoyle

I am a Catholic, working wife and mother. I have three children ages 10, 16 and 23. I am extremely busy, as you can imagine. I aim each and every day to put God first in my life, to teach my children the Faith, to be a supportive spouse, keep the house in order, and do my job outside of the home well, too. That's an impossible task - without Divine intervention! Here, I hope to share my triumphs and struggles with other working moms in the same boat. I will share the tools I have discovered to making it all work - most days!
This entry was posted in Inspirational, miscellaneous, nutrition/food, Prayer and tagged , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

2 Responses to Changing a Dreaded Chore into a Cheerful Challenge

  1. Good work Dana! I actually enjoy grocery shopping for my family of seven – I’m a bit strange I know. But I won’t go if I know it’s crowded, that just sucks! Like you I go either early or late.

    What I find difficult sometimes is visiting particular people I don’t feel I have the time or energy to visit. That’s when I have to suck it up and put a smile on my face and try to get ‘into it’, and it always turns out to be quite a nice time.

Leave a Reply

