Reflection on Today’s Gospel, Sunday, August 17, 2014

christ_canaanite_womanReadings for Sunday, August 17, 2014

I remember when (a few years ago) I read this passage from Matthew’s gospel to my students for the first time.  A few students who were really listening were surprised and perplexed by Jesus’ response to the Canaanite woman.  Not fully understanding the passage myself, I had to go do some research in order to help them.

I understood that the Jews would see this woman as lesser than – or unworthy – because her people were the pagans who historically worshiped idols – not good.  The disciples who were with Jesus found her to be obnoxious and annoying with her pitiful pleas for help.  Jesus did not send the woman away as they requested, yet He was not very warm and friendly with her either.  Perhaps, He was testing her faith by not simply giving into her right away.

I knew Jesus was not simply mild-mannered and “lovey- dovey.”   After all, Jesus demonstrated righteous fury when He toppled the merchants tables when they were selling goods in the Temple.  Our God is a God of mercy and love, but also of justice. However, I still had difficulty reconciling the Jesus in today’s gospel with the Jesus I have come to know.

If today’s gospel left you feeling a bit confused, here are some resources that may help you:

Commentary on the Canaanite Woman’s Faith from BibleGateway

3 Minute Homily on this Gospel from USCCB

Today’s gospel emphasizes the importance of humility before God.  Humility is the foundation of holiness.  We are all called to holiness, therefore, we must conquer our pride and self- centeredness – our need for control and independence.  We must seek to excel in humility so that we may fulfill our call to holiness.

About danardoyle

I am a Catholic, working wife and mother. I have three children ages 10, 16 and 23. I am extremely busy, as you can imagine. I aim each and every day to put God first in my life, to teach my children the Faith, to be a supportive spouse, keep the house in order, and do my job outside of the home well, too. That's an impossible task - without Divine intervention! Here, I hope to share my triumphs and struggles with other working moms in the same boat. I will share the tools I have discovered to making it all work - most days!
This entry was posted in Prayer and tagged , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

