The Importance of Joy

“Joy is a net of love by which you catch souls.”  Mother Theresa

In the hectic, morally corrupt world we live in today, it is very easy to lose our joy.  I’m not speaking as a “Suzie Sunshine” shaming everyone who doesn’t walk around smiling from ear to ear.  I like smiling and greeting those whose paths I cross most days, but occasionally I do get stuck in a rut of depression or sadness.  I think that most people do – it’s part of the human condition.

Joy is important in the life of every Christian.  Without it, we can’t be truly effective witnesses to God’s great love and mercy.  One of my favorite saint quotes is written at the top of this page.  I believe it to be so true.  If one lives a life of joy in Christ, he/she can’t help be a magnet to others searching for happiness but coming up short.

The quest for happiness – it is the thing that every human being in the world has in common – rich, poor, fat, thin, old, young – we all want to be happy.  There are so many people out there looking for fulfillment in jobs, in possessions, in toys, in sex, in self -improvement, in plastic surgery, in other people…the list goes on.  We will only find true joy and true peace in Jesus.

You want joy?  I will tell you where I found it – I found it in Jesus in the Eucharist.  It’s not in just receiving Him at mass, but in spending time with Him in adoration that has truly compounded my joy (and gotten me out of many times of sadness as well).  I cannot recommend it enough!  Adoration gives me the peace and joy I need to go out and smile effortlessly –  and to spread the good news of God’s love to my students and (hopefully) to everyone I meet.  (Working with kids for a living helps too!)images Unknown

We must seek Joy in the right place, nurture it and protect this precious gift.  With joy in the very depths of our hearts, we can weather life’s storms and help Jesus “catch souls.”

About danardoyle

I am a Catholic, working wife and mother. I have three children ages 10, 16 and 23. I am extremely busy, as you can imagine. I aim each and every day to put God first in my life, to teach my children the Faith, to be a supportive spouse, keep the house in order, and do my job outside of the home well, too. That's an impossible task - without Divine intervention! Here, I hope to share my triumphs and struggles with other working moms in the same boat. I will share the tools I have discovered to making it all work - most days!
This entry was posted in adoration, Blessed Sacrament, Catholicism, Prayer and tagged , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

