TMI? Maybe.

Readings for Sunday, August 3, 2014

The readings this Sunday really speak to my weary little soul.  This is the time of year when, as a mom/teacher, I am caught up in the back to school whirlwind.  There are so many preparations to make – both at school and on the home front, and lots of checks to write!

All of our married lives, my husband and I have lived paycheck to paycheck.  We have never had much savings and have sometimes had none.  We often literally live on “a wing and a prayer.”  I am not complaining, as I know that there are many, many folks in the country and in the world who are truly suffering for lack of basic necessities.

The point I wish to make is that God is faithful.  Although things have always been tight, we have never been in need. Whenever things would look bleak, God would somehow miraculously intervene.  His generosity is never outdone, as in the story of the feeding of the 5,000 in today’s gospel.  We have been the beneficiaries of many such multiplications over the years!  If you ever wonder if God still performs miracles today, I can assure you that He does.

My family’s life has been a living testimony to God’s loving providence.  What I’m saying is, don’t be afraid to trust in God completely – to surrender to His will for your life.  When, as a couple, we felt that God was calling us to open our hearts to a third child, we let go and let God.  The blessings we have received have far outweighed any challenges.

Just yesterday, I checked our bank account to see if I had enough money to grocery shop.  I did shop, but knew I’d have to watch what I put into the basket very carefully.  When I got home, I found an unexpected check in the mail for just about the amount that I had spent at the grocery.  God is so good my friends!  So good!  “The hand of the Lord feeds us.  He answers all our needs.”

One last point that I want to bring to the table – my table included – is the need for time with God each day.  At the beginning of today’s gospel, Jesus is feeling overwhelmed and He goes off by Himself to pray.  OK – Jesus is God – and yet, He felt the need for that quiet time with the Father.  How much more, then, must we need that time of communion with God.  This world that we live in is difficult to say the very least.  The devil is busier than ever trying to pull us away from God, from Truth, from Peace.  We cannot let him win over us.  In order to get the peace that God alone can give – to weather these unprecedented morally corrupt times – we must take the time to plug in.  It is not an option!  Here are some suggestions for doing that:

1.  Get up 15 minutes early and read the readings of the day.  Pray.  Listen.

2.  Pop into the adoration chapel or a nearby church.  Just sit in Jesus’ presence.

3.  Set a timer on your phone a few times a day.  Put a prayer card in your pocket.  When the timer goes off, Pray.  Breathe.  Listen.

4.  Take a walk on your break at work, or after work.  Look at the beauty in nature around you – God’s incredible creations.  Talk to God in your heart.  Thank Him.  Listen.

5. Download the Laudate App.  Use it periodically throughout the day!  Play a rosary or divine mercy chaplet podcast when you lay down to sleep.  Put your phone on your bedside table.  Listen.

6.  Pray a scriptural rosary.

7. Take a bath or long shower.  Talk to God.  Thank Him for the clean, warm water.  Listen.

8.  Pull up a beautiful religious picture on your desktop.  Just put yourself in the scene.  Meditate.

9.  Light a holy candle.  Sit and watch the dancing of the flame.  Think about how Jesus is the Light of the World – how He entered into the darkness of our world and illuminated it.  Think about how you live your calling to be a light in this world.  What might God be calling you to at this moment?

10.  Pick up a good, inspirational Catholic book – faithful to the Magisterium.  Be inspired.  Think.  Pray.

About danardoyle

I am a Catholic, working wife and mother. I have three children ages 10, 16 and 23. I am extremely busy, as you can imagine. I aim each and every day to put God first in my life, to teach my children the Faith, to be a supportive spouse, keep the house in order, and do my job outside of the home well, too. That's an impossible task - without Divine intervention! Here, I hope to share my triumphs and struggles with other working moms in the same boat. I will share the tools I have discovered to making it all work - most days!
This entry was posted in Prayer, scripture, Scripture Reflections and tagged , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

6 Responses to TMI? Maybe.

  1. kaelinkedwards says:

    Great post! I’m a new follower, and I look forward to reading your content.

    I’m a Christian blogger as well. You can check out some of my posts at http://www.KaelinEdwards.com

    God bless!

  2. Shannon says:

    Thank you so much for all you do and say through these beautiful posts. I look forward to reading each and every one! They are truly inspiring. Shannon

    Sent from my iPhone

    >

    • danardoyle says:

      You know,
      sometimes, I feel like I’ve said all I have to say and suffer from a lack of inspiration. That tells me that I should probably beef up my daily prayer. Hmmm. Thank you for your comment. You have given me the “umph” I needed to stick with it. God Bless!

  3. perrettharry says:

    Thank you so much for this post, it is very encouraging, and I know where your coming from as we also struggle with finance, but God has always provided for us/I ALSO LOVE YOUR TEN STEPS, AM coping them and will put them in my book, thank you again and God bless you, keep up the good work.

  4. Pingback: Back to School Wisdom | NOLA Catholic Experience

Leave a Reply

