Reflection on Today’s Readings

Readings for Sunday, July 27, 2014

When reading the first reading, I was struck by Solomon’s unselfishness – his genuine concern for the people in his charge.  I thought of a mother’s prayers.  Most moms are really selfless and spend a good part of their prayer time imploring God’s graces and help for their children.  On the other hand, sometimes, we treat God like a fairy God father.  Gimme this, I wish that…   There is a really simple, sweet prayer that our teachers at school teach the little people.  It the five-finger prayer.  This helps us to remember to keep our prayers on the more selfless side.  I also like the ACTS prayer: Adoration first, Contrition, Thanksgiving and (lastly) Supplication.  Unknown

In the second reading, I was stumped by that controversial word, “predestination.”  I knew that this was something that Calvinists believed. This is a really good article on the Catholic view of the word predestination and the Catholic understanding of Romans 8.

Finally, reading the gospel about the pearl of great price/hidden treasure brought a few things to mind.  In a movie put out by the USCCB called “Fishers of Men,” a priest interviewed called the priesthood the “pearl of great price.”  I suppose as a happily married person, I could call my marriage – my spouse – a pearl of great price.  When we live our vocations – be it as a priest, religious, consecrated or married person – faithfully putting God at the center, we can experience a foretaste of heaven.  Our vocations, when faithfully lived can lead us to the kingdom of heaven!

Secondly, Jesus is our Pearl of Great Price.  It is only through Him that we may be redeemed.  Are we willing to give up all of these earthly trappings and luxuries – to live in communion with our Pearl of Great Price, or are we too caught up in the trappings?  Do we rightfully, fully appreciate the gift of our redemption, or is that something we plan to think about when we get older and (seemingly) closer to our death?  What if we don’t grow old?  If we don’t walk with the Lord throughout our whole life, what will we be missing?

Lastly, I thought of something totally random.  Pearl is the birthstone for the month of June.  June is the month that we honor the Sacred Heart of Jesus.  I was born in June.  I have developed a great devotion to the Sacred Heart.  Coincidence?  (I know – random:)

About danardoyle

I am a Catholic, working wife and mother. I have three children ages 10, 16 and 23. I am extremely busy, as you can imagine. I aim each and every day to put God first in my life, to teach my children the Faith, to be a supportive spouse, keep the house in order, and do my job outside of the home well, too. That's an impossible task - without Divine intervention! Here, I hope to share my triumphs and struggles with other working moms in the same boat. I will share the tools I have discovered to making it all work - most days!
This entry was posted in Informational, Marriage, scripture, Scripture Reflections and tagged , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

